Parker, William Quartet / Petit Oiseau
Album: Petit Oiseau   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Parker, William Quartet   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Aum Fidelity  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-01-18 Pull Date: 2009-03-22 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2024: Music Casserole
Malachi's Mode
4. May 17, 2017: Oh Messy Motion
Shorter For Alan
2. Aug 24, 2023: Oh Messy Life
Dust From A Mountain
5. Dec 11, 2010: Oh Messy Life
Groove Sweet
3. Jan 19, 2023: Oh Messy Life
Talaps Theme
6. Feb 04, 2009: Baptism of Solitude
Malachi's Mode

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-01-12
Modern jazz. Most songs are post-bop compositions with healthy, grooving rhythms to them, and a bit of wild fire in some of the sax and trumpet solos (as on 3). The writing is catchy and the group interaction feels nice. All four players have free-jazz credentials, but it's not until the last two tracks that they start to get really out there.

William Parker - bass
Hamid Drake - drums
Rob Brown - alto sax
Lewis Barnes - trumpet

1- A suite of grooves. Some nice soloing along the way - nicely accessible track (but 17 mins. long)
2- Catchy bass groove, twisty sax/trumpet double-soloing
3- Upbeat w/springy theme. Some fast, outside soloing
4- Slower and more mysterious, but still a grooving good time
5- Forcefully chugging bop, a jazzy good listen
6- Joyous melodic groove, mid/fast, a touch of South Africa township? Cool bass solo, later a drum solo.
7- Slow: Mystic woodflute. Big-sky searching sax later.
8- More out-there, with a dark, abstract theme but a healthy jamming groove underneath. Includes some more outside group improv and some unaccompanied bass that traverses quiet, inner-space territory.

Track Listing
1. Groove Sweet   5. Four For Tommy
2. Talaps Theme   6. Malachi's Mode
3. Petit Oiseau   7. Dust From A Mountain
4. The Golden Bell   8. Shorter For Alan