Gang Gang Dance / Saint Dymphna
Album: Saint Dymphna   Collection:General
Artist:Gang Gang Dance   Added:Oct 2008
Label:The Social Registry  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-15 Pull Date: 2009-05-17 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: May 17 May 10 Apr 26 Apr 19 Mar 29 Mar 22
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 17, 2023: Alien Hour
4. Jan 27, 2016: radio seven
2. May 03, 2016: Life Aquatic
5. Nov 06, 2015: A Visit From Drum (Nature Walk)
Desert Storm
3. Feb 05, 2016: A Visit From Drum
6. Oct 09, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Desert Storm

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2009-01-04
Electro madness that overall qualifies the “D”: lots of dance beats present, but mostly submerged beneath heavy treatments and complexities. Previous works were noisier, fit in with electronoise. This is more accessible and musical, plain interesting. Afro funk figures high in a lot of the tracks (“tribal”). Unique female vocal stylings, desperate (Bjorky I guess). Incorporates organic instruments, congas, guitars. Very varied and excellent.

1) Tomita 70’s “trippy” synth intro, a tribal heavy percussion in front, with soaring and tripped out swirling melodies and tones (BLENDS INTO NEXT TRACK)
2) a techno’ish dance beat appears out of the tribal of the previous, guitars and female vocals appear, would play well with previous track
3) heavy, sultry hip grinding slow dance beat, dark, blends into next track but not entirely committed
4) slow dreamy heavy My Bloody Valentine feel, pretty
5) sythn brass, tribal but electro, subtle beat, not over the head, complex
6) kind of a swallowed house techno beat just trying to claw to the surface under loads of trippiness, female vocs, cool shit
7) house, with female vocals, very pop and the most “normal” clearly “dance” track yet
8) brief trippy synth, no beat, an intro of sorts to the next track
9) almost mathy prog electro-rock, with a strange dub echo thrown in, very cool, complex, vocals figure in clearly in a “songlike” structure (i.e. versus and a chorus)
10) really lovely tribal hip grinding hypnotic chill electro (comes out of previous track nicely)

Track Listing
1. Bebey   6. Inner Pace
2. First Communion   7. Afoot
3. Blue Nile   8. House Jam
4. Vacuum   9. Interlude (No Known Home)
5. Princes (Feat. Tinchy Stryder)   10. Desert Storm
  11. Dust