John Brown's Body / Amplify
Album: Amplify   Collection:Reggae
Artist:John Brown's Body   Added:Dec 2008
Label:Easy Star Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-12-07 Pull Date: 2009-02-08 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2009: New World Disorder
Give Yourself Over
4. Jan 18, 2009: The Twilight Zone
Make Your Move
2. Jan 31, 2009: New World Disorder
Zion Triad
5. Jan 17, 2009: New World Disorder
Zion Triad
3. Jan 24, 2009: New World Disorder
The Gold
6. Jan 15, 2009: Happy Hour
Ghost Notes

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-12-08
John Brown’s Body – Amplify
Reviewed by Sadie O., 12/5/08
“Progressive Reggae”, possibly an oxymoronic concept… I may have been the wrong person to review this, because I kept getting “Yes moments” when I listened, and I get hives when I get “Yes moments”… In spite of this, it’s a very good record, certainly fine musicianship and lots of interesting sounds and rhythms.
No FCCs detected. I like 8 best, everything with 3*s is good stuff.
1. **dramatic intro, then very uptempo syncopated skank, vocals have a bit of dancehall.
2. ***tuning instruments intro, then downtempo skank, strong one-drop.
3. ***big horns and melodrama, midtempo bubble with rather cinematic sounding backing vocals. Modulates in fairly unusual ways.
4. ***very slow roots skank, righteousness lyrics, trumpet solo. Includes a dub with Rasta outsider visionary toast (from St. Croix’ Midnite).
5. ***uptempo bouncy boppy wiggle, stadium-rock lyrics.
6. **dubified intro, complex uptempo riddim. Has a bit of Steel Pulse feel. Some “hip hop” vocals.
7. *downtempo with 16th notes, nice vocal rhythm at start, gets a bit trippy-spacey. Ends with a bit of nyahbinghi.
8. ****spacey noises, then downtempo beat and scratching, bouncy midtempo dancehall with rhythmic vocals.
9. **very slow, lots of “prog”, a bit of vocal processing, but pleasant enough.
10. **starts with kora solo, then uptempo, rather urgent sounding skank, love song. Big strings. Sounds like a George Martin production.
11. ***similar riddim, but big horns, somewhat complicated syncopation. Some interesting interplay of vocals.
12. ***somewhat downtempo nyahbinghi riddim, vocal harmonies. Hymn-like, very pretty. Ends a few seconds early.

Track Listing
1. Amplify   7. Sky Juice
2. Give Yourself Over   8. Make Your Move
3. The Gold   9. Ghost Notes
4. Speak Of The Devil (Feat. Vaughn Benjamin Of Midnite)   10. So Aware
5. Push Some Air   11. Zion Triad
6. Shake The Dice   12. Be At Peace