Various Artists / Live From The Japanese Music Underground
Album: Live From The Japanese Music Underground   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Dec 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-08 Pull Date: 2009-05-10
Week Ending: May 3 Apr 5 Mar 22 Mar 15
Airplays: 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 26, 2009: Aural Sex
Day Dream Believer
4. Mar 21, 2009: Mini-Bloodstains Across Your Schnoz
Day Dream Believer
2. Apr 04, 2009: Music Casserole
Live From Earthdom
5. Mar 12, 2009: A2Z
Day Dream Believer
3. Apr 01, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
6. Mar 11, 2009: Brownian Motion
Day Dream Believer

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2009-02-25
It’s free jazz, weird sounds, psych AND it’s all from Japan? Obviously it’s gotta be put together by our friends @ in Los Altos Hills’ finest institution. Although the results of the band/song quality vary quite a lot.

((((1)))) Tuneful, sometimes wild free-jazz-ish stuff with random vocals from yet another variation on the often impressive Ruins concept.
(((2))) Meandering, loud, psych-ish rock jam. Nothing terrible just incredibly average.
(((3))) Vocal manipulations, spacious and often minimal to very quiet. Interesting ‘cause it sounds pretty creepy and loud & here + there.
((4)) Random guitar strums, sort of folksy then later vaguely psych. Really flat and boring.
(((5))) Bassy, wild guitar playing, fast tempo, skonky sax in the background. Sounds like Flying Luddenbachers?
(((6))) Pretty good psych/guitar noodling, later gets into hazy psych rock with kinda bored vocals. Drags on way too long overall.
((((7)))) Doomy, fairly heavy psych with a great guitar sound, vocals have a decent amount of reverb on ‘em adding to the charm.
((8)) Silly, female fronted, strummy pop. Like a lesser K Records band if they were say born in Osaka instead of Olympia.
((9)) Sax, oddly tuned guitar getting increasingly louder but not really sounding like anything beyond “some dudes way stoned, random jam session”. Tabata’s done way better stuff. (See Zeni Geva).
(10) Huh? Bland vaguely psych rock with super-lame, warbling vocals.
((11)) Ear-pentrating, high pitched noise, gets more distorted and possibly (more) painful at the first 2 ½ minutes. Not bad but a little long.
((((12))))) Spoken intro in English with shout-out to KFJC & a friggin’ legal ID. This guy should collab with Cy Thoth. Anyway, bass, wah-wah pedal total fuggin’ Hawkwind-ish, psych rawk. No lame noodling here, just pure mind meltin’ & pedal stompin’ goodness.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Sax Ruins Live From Earthdom
2. Majutsu No Niwa Areta Umibe
3. Reiko A. + Sachiko Live From Earthdom
4. Keiichi Myashita Rainbow Cluster
5. Kukuucrew Mon
6. Katsurei Ribbon No Kishi
7. Up-Tight Day Dream Believer
8. Oninko Soccer Ball Is A Pentagon
9. Tabata Mitsuru Jagermeister
10. Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate Melt
11. Astro Live From Earthdom
12. Amazon Saliva Yume Kieru