Rigil / Concertina Heart
Album: Concertina Heart   Collection:General
Artist:Rigil   Added:Jan 2009
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-06-21 Pull Date: 2009-08-23
Week Ending: Aug 23 Aug 9 Aug 2 Jul 19 Jul 5 Jun 28
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 22, 2009: lost and found
4. Aug 01, 2009: Party at Grandma's
Beauty In Grey
2. Aug 04, 2009: Hipster Garbage
Full Circle
5. Jul 14, 2009: Hipster Garbage
3. Aug 01, 2009: lost and found
6. Jul 03, 2009: Memory Select

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-06-10
Rigil “Concertina Heart”: Ambient electronica/pop. Soft male vox layer on top of calm snare percussion & electronic roaming. Good for deep thoughts and heartfelt making out. I must admit, I found the lyrics quite trite, but the wandering instrumentation fits the ambient label well. Album is by a 20 yr old – Robert Slade – from a small English village.
No FCCs detected basil

1) slow, paced ambient song; soft vox, occasional chimes; end fades out to just vox
2) *electronica noise ebbs & flows behind soft vox – quite epic
3) waving synth, hushed snare, spoken lyrics; some electronic bubbly reverb & chirping
4) *choppy piano chord’s a la Thom Yorke’s “Eraser”; punk-y vocals; electric guitar
5) * retreating synth, powerful droning, odd clicking; powerful ambient shit – no vox here
6) heavy bass and synth; soft, almost female vox; boings of some sort repeat in the background
7) *Layers of his own chanting topped by his boyish voice; screeching guitar joins
8) **epic instrumental, slow-paced with nice simple piano build
9) noise filled, slow track with dramatic vocals
10) * Simple, slow song “your mind is a mine-field, I have to watch my tongue”

Track Listing
1. Beauty In Grey   6. Colin Made Me
2. Full Circle   7. Marble
3. You Weren't Seen   8. Wheatfields
4. Free To Roam   9. Two Worlds
5. Young Eyes   10. Minefield