Ware, David S. / Shakti
Album: Shakti   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Ware, David S.   Added:Jan 2009
Label:Aum Fidelity  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-02-01 Pull Date: 2009-04-05 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 22 Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 22 Feb 15
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 03, 2009: Memory Select, early edition
4. Mar 20, 2009: Emphysema For Emphasis
2. Mar 31, 2009: Reelin' in the Years Jazz Special
5. Mar 13, 2009: Memory Select
Crossing Samsara
3. Mar 27, 2009: Memory Select
6. Mar 06, 2009: Memory Select

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-02-01
Earthy free jazz colored by Ware's knotty, sour-toned sax. Joe Morris on guitar adds a gentle sound, but his soloing and Ware's are still plenty intense. Ware really cuts loose on tracks 4 and 6, but most of the time he's creating more controlled shapes built of off-color sax notes and microtones.

Maybe this doesn't have the ferocity of Ware's early stuff, but it's still energetic -- the drums pack a power punch, for instance -- and shows Ware still riding tall, perhaps in a more mature setting. And Joe Morris' mercury-fast guitar is always a treat.

David S. Ware (tenor sax, kalimba)
Joe Morris (guitar)
William Parker (bass)
Warren Smith (drums)

1- (9:39) Bouncy and catchy. Twisty, throttling sax comes in right away.
2- (18:10) A calmer flow, almost a casually bluesy feel in the sax. Solos for everyone. Nice long jam, swingy.
3- (12:38) Slow, reflective feel, with fast gnarled sax. Like an interesting monologue.
4- (8:27) Peaceful thumb piano, then solo sax. Gets ghostly and intense, then fades out.
5- (9:26) Squirrely, bumpy theme, some gritty soloing.
6- (9:33) Joyous themes and some fast-flitting sax work that gets super intense by the end.

Track Listing
1. Crossing Samsara   4. Namah
2. Nataraj   5. Antidromic
3. Reflection   6. Shakti