Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Iyer, Vijay / Tragicomic
Album:Tragicomic Collection:Jazz
Artist:Iyer, Vijay Added:Jan 2009
Label:Sunnyside Communications 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2009-04-19 Pull Date:2009-06-21 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Jun 21Jun 14Jun 7May 24May 10Apr 26

 Recent Airplay
1.May 20, 2016:Rebop
Age Of Everything
4.Jun 20, 2009:No Cover, No Minimum: Weekend Edition
Window Text
2.Sep 18, 2009:No Cover, No Minimum: Monterey Jazz Edition
Comin' Up
5.Jun 19, 2009:Memory Select
Age Of Everything
3.Sep 04, 2009:Memory Select
Comin' Up
6.Jun 12, 2009:Memory Select

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-04-12 
Strong piano-led quartet with a deeply modern sound that still ties back to the jazz tradition. Iyer plays with a thunderous and percussive bent, informed by drum machines and electronica -- but this is still an acoustic album, one with a richly organic feel. Look for stern, eye-opening themes, followed by solo spaces that keep the same logic (as opposed to being abstract free-for-alls) while stretching outward. Quieter moments bring Iyer closer to a traditional piano-jazz sound, but there's little here that you'd call loungy. It's a middle point between the sternness of hte trio Fieldwork and Iyer's earlier, more mainstream albums like "Memorophilia." Instrumental; FCC clean.

Iyer (piano)
Rudresh Mahanthappa (sax)
Stephan Crump (bass)
Marcus Gilmore (drums)

1- Slow build. Grand intro.
2- A fast babble, attention-grabbing.
3- Deep and foreboding, almost prog-rock! Mid/fast; gets emotional.
4- Richly rolling riff, mid/fast.
5- Quiet start, into some neat little statements between sax and piano. Give it some time.
6- Slowish
7- Jaunty, some South African sun, but in an odd time sig.
8- An airy feel over some deep pulsing at the start. Rather nice.
9- Surprisingly nice, almost loungy.
10- Rapid pace; stern jumbly sax & piano. Some really nice piano work, not at all "machine"-like
11- Ballad-like (quiet) but heavy. Gets sharply intense later.
12- A foreboding semi-ballad with heavy subtext.

Track Listing
1.The Weight Of Things 7.Age Of Everything
2.Macaca Please 8.Window Text
3.Aftermath 9.I'm All Smiles
4.Comin' Up 10.Machine Days
5.Without Lions 11.Threnody
6.Mehndi 12.Becoming