Lucky Fonz Iii / Life Is Short
Album: Life Is Short   Collection:General
Artist:Lucky Fonz Iii   Added:Jan 2009
Label:Mystreetismine Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-19 Pull Date: 2009-06-21
Week Ending: Jun 21 Jun 14 Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 10 May 3 Apr 26
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 15, 2009: Johanna's Demo
Draw Me A River
4. Jun 03, 2009: smartie pop
All My Days
2. Jun 07, 2009: Crosscurrents
All My Days
5. May 26, 2009: The Rise and Fall of Ziggy the Talking Head yes, yes YES
All My Days
3. Jun 04, 2009: Muzikstravaganza
All My Days
6. May 19, 2009: tomayto and tomahto
Once I Was A Lady

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-03-19
Lucky Fonz Iii – “Life is Short”: Dutch male singer-songwriter with unique vox – touch of an accent & a bit raspy. His barren instrumentation usually sticks to acoustic guitar, some bells, piano. Organ, horns and harmonica swoop in to pick up the tempo on the best tracks. Songs often seem longer than they are – but its not necessarily a bad thing. They sort of suspend you in time. He is compared to Bob Dylan and Bright Eyes, but I think his Dutch charm sets him apart from other imitating folksters (gotta love goofy Dutch accent & all that liberalism!). No FCCs, Start with #4, 2 - Basil

1) nice organs, horns, soft guitar; drags his raspy vocals to mirror the organ notes; there’s a middle section of melancholy bells that grow quite dark!
2) **Listen for the Dutch accent; Talking over folksy guitar, telling a story
3) *hear that emotion in the vox! French horns evoke droning sadness – has a melancholy vibe w/ some New Orleans flavor
4) ***Upbeat! Whistling, chipper piano; Like Mungo Jerry’s “In the Summertime”; great harmonies; jazzy, rag-time feel
5) Melancholy song about being consumed by city life; nice layered vox
6) Duet with female singer; kind of She & Him or Kimya Dawson-esque
7) Strains his voice in heartache to slow, deep piano; funky duet in chorus; great lyrics “your eyes are to me Christmas lights”
8) acoustic guitar & layered vox: repeated lyric lines; “I let my long legs burn”
9) *Rag-time again; perky piano, whistling; very happy-go-lucky
10) VERY SOFT; just subtle acoustic guitar & low vocals; sad narrative
11) **taste of folk; harmonica & upbeat acoustic guitar; nice build
12) simple “bum bum, bum bum” deep guitar line; vox strain & tell a story
13) * raw acoustic plucking, attempt at more Johnny Cash-like vox; very simple & relaxing
14) **Random electro feel; oddly distant vocals and shimmery synth, electro beats & effects; ends with some Dutch (I think) voice clips; sounds a bit poorly produced but maybe that’s the intent.

Track Listing
1. Draw Me A River   8. The Island
2. Once I Was A Lady   9. Around The Backdoor
3. Jane On The Roof   10. In Search Of The Miraculous
4. All My Days   11. From The Mountain
5. Seven Years Of Observation   12. The Lowlands
6. Drops Of Water   13. Don't Knock On My Door
7. Christmas Lights In A Cave   14. All The Clocks