Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Volcano Suns / Bright Orange Years, The
Album:Bright Orange Years, The Collection:General
Artist:Volcano Suns Added:01/2009
Label:Merge Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2009-03-08 Pull Date:2009-05-10 
Week Ending:29 Mar22 Mar15 Mar

 Recent Airplay
1.Oct 29, 2009:A2Z
Sea Cruise
4.Mar 23, 2009:PACC Appreciation Show
Old Paint
2.Mar 27, 2009:Emphysema For Emphasis
5.Mar 17, 2009:I Once Was Greek
Sea Cruise
3.Mar 25, 2009:The Heart of KZSU
6.Mar 12, 2009:A2Z
Sea Cruise

Album Review
Rafe McBride
Reviewed 2009-02-28 
Reissue of 1985 post-punk/"college-rock" album The Bright Orange Years from ex-members of Mission of Burma. The sound reflects the MoB connection...a lot of post-punkish tracks with soaring vocal harmonies, pounding drums, but not quite as much of an edge as MoB. Also heard hints of Husker Du and the Minutemen.
##FCCs## Tracks 15, 19,20 no others detected, (hard to understand through hollered vocals

**1) Probably one of their best tunes, catchy hooks, noisy, but bright
2) Hardcore sound without the edge
3) Jangly instrumental that builds nicely
4) Reminds me a a slowed down version of That's When I Reach for My Revolver
*5) Angular post-punk guitars, driving rhythm
6) Reverbed out vocals, almost has a rockabilly feel to it vocals.
*7) Pounding drums, nice hardcore guitar riff
8) Bouncy Post-punk sound
9) Reminds me of early REM a little, more melodic than some of the other tracks
10) Straight-ahead post-punk
11) Messy hardcore sound
*12) Nice Harmonies
*13) This track mixes it up a bit, nice bass work, f. vocal harmonies
14) FCC? – God-damn - Crunchy guitars, shouted vocals
15) FCC SHIT at end, nice track though
16) Song about not getting along with Nature
17) One of the more aggressive tunes on the album
18) Studio chatter then MoB style track, with some weirdness
19) FCC? – FUCKING, hard to hear, might be at the beginning
20) FCC – SHIT at 4 min mark…live – Messy post-punk
21) Goofy live cover of Prince’s “1999”.

Track Listing
1.Jak 11.It's Stewtime
2.Descent Into Hell 12.Silvertone
3.Truth Is Stranger Than Fishing 13.Sea Cruise
4.Balancing Act 14.Greasy Spine
5.Promise Me 15.Tree Stomp
6.(I'm Gonna) Make You Mine 16.Nature And Me
7.Cover 17.Old Paint
8.The Mouth That Roared 18.The Central
9.Cornfield 19.Local Wise Man
10.Animals 20.Testify-Live