Soundtrack Of Our Lives, The / Communion
Album: Communion   Collection:General
Artist:Soundtrack Of Our Lives, The   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-05-03 Pull Date: 2009-07-05
Week Ending: Jul 5 Jun 28 Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 17 May 10
Airplays: 1 3 3 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 03, 2010: Quasi Music Therapy
The Ego Delusion
4. Jul 19, 2009: Quasi Music Therapy
2. Feb 12, 2010: Everyday Commotion
Thrill Me
5. Jul 18, 2009: Quasi Music Therapy w. Friends
3. Jan 20, 2010: Quasi Music Therapy
6. Jul 05, 2009: Quasi Music Therapy
Utopia, Flipside

Album Review
Alan Joyce
Reviewed 2009-04-24
It appears that The Soundtrack couldn’t quite decide whether they wanted to record a psych-rock or indie-pop album, so they did both. The first disc is much more toward the rock end of the spectrum, with the second covering more of the pop side of things. This is generally a good concept, because they appear to have ample talent in both genres. Most songs are mid to fast, with a dreamy-spacey feel often present. No FCCs detected.

1. Starts quiet, builds to energetic psych-rock with repetitive but awesome vocals.
2. Dreamy vocals with rising and falling instrumentation, builds to a climax and then tails off.
*3. Pleasantly psyched-out lyrics mesh with mid-fast spacey instrumentation. Nice imagery.
4. Short (0:50) and slow one-liner.
5. Rockin’ upbeat track with ample energy to go around.
6. Slow, lamenting, suicidal ballad of sadness. Builds to a rock-based climax as the track comes to a close.
7. Typical upbeat rockable “thrill me” track – take it at face value.
*8. Nicely building upbeat melody, flows with ease and style.
9. Soft, light vocals start slow, but switch to solid upbeat rock and back.
*10. Clear and catchy display of totally rockable energy.
11. Mid-tempo, airy contemplation.
12. Grounded with a garage-rock feel and upbeat guitars going nuts.

1. Pleasant humming leads into soft, harmonious vocals.
2. Vocals with simple instrumentation and an occasional upbeat accent.
*3. Catchy pop tune with upbeat vocals, hand clapping, and plenty of fun.
4. Tries to continue the pop theme, and almost gets there. Too predictable.
5. Nice guitar picking backs gently swaying vocals.
6. Instrumental with simple guitar and tabla.
7. Edges back toward rock. Floating vocals. Fantastic driving song.
8. Laid-back, psych-pop with a swirling, spacey feel. Repetitive.
*9. Very interesting tabla and electric guitar-driven melody. Pop-rock.
10. As the song says, here we go again. Upbeat pop-rock with a pretty typical chord progression.
11. Soft, somber vocals with simple guitar picking.
12. Mid-slow pop with a clap-along rhythm. Pleasant harmonious vocals. Goes silent with ~1:09 left to play, comes back with very quiet tinklings.

Track Listing
1. Babel On   13. Everything Beautiful Must Die
2. Universal Stalker   14. The Fan Who Wasn't There
3. The Ego Delusion   15. Flipside
4. Pineal Gland Hotel   16. Lost Prophets In Vain
5. Ra 88   17. Songs Of The Ocean
6. Second Life Replay   18. Digitarian Riverbank
7. Thrill Me   19. Reconnecting The Dots
8. Fly   20. Without Warning
9. Pictures Of Youth   21. Utopia
10. Mensa's Marauders   22. Saturation Wanderers
11. Just A Brother   23. Lifeline
12. Distorted Child   24. The Passover