Osby, Greg / Nine Levels
Album: Nine Levels   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Osby, Greg   Added:Apr 2009
Label:Inner Circle Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-09-13 Pull Date: 2009-11-15 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Nov 1 Oct 18 Oct 4 Sep 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 27, 2009: Memory Select
3. Sep 29, 2009: Memory Select [new Tuesday time!]
2. Oct 13, 2009: Memory Select, guest Aram Shelton
4. Sep 20, 2009: Transmission Overload

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-09-04
Modern sorta-mainstream jazz: a cool slick sound masking complicated jazz with some angular soloing ideas. Intelligent and grooving.

In some ways, Osby is a paragon of modern jazz. An Osby sax solo will dart like a hummingbird but leave a steely, hard-edged path in its wake. Along the way you realize he did a lot of crazy things without sounding too "out." Like Steve Coleman, he's working to expand the jazz vocabulary while working within the jazz tradition.

Greg Osby -- alto, soprano sax
Sara Serpa -- vocals
Adam Birnbaum -- piano
Nir Felder -- guitar
Joseph Lepore -- bass
Hamir Atwal -- drums

1- Perky, darting theme over careful piano. Cool guitar solo.
2- Cooldown mode, but still a flinty groove. Randomly, wordless vocals near the end.
3- Slow. Floating and mysterious backdrop for a nicely energetic and bright sax solo on soprano sax.
4- Smoothly jabbing and grooving theme. Nicely flowing piano solo. Lushly angular guitar solo.
5- Airy mid/fast theme with wordless vocal.
6- Velvety, wandering midtempo theme. Takes its time, then blossoms apart for slow-burning free soloing
7- Lush song (w/lyrics). Slowish, mellow, poppy. Listen to how the sax follows the vowel sounds in the vocals; it's an uncanny effect.
8- Lightly midtempo. Mostly soft an relaxed, but Osby's piping solo adds some adventurous color.

Track Listing
1. Principle   5. Less Tension Please
2. Tolerance   6. Resilience
3. Humility   7. Two Of One
4. Truth   8. Innocence
  9. Optimism