Flying Change, The / Pain Is A Reliable Signal
Album: Pain Is A Reliable Signal   Collection:General
Artist:Flying Change, The   Added:May 2009
Label:Scarlet Shame Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-30 Pull Date: 2009-11-01
Week Ending: Oct 25 Oct 18 Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 13 Sep 6
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 22, 2009: New Playlist
Dirty White Coats
4. Oct 03, 2009: Music Rollercoaster
Dirty White Coats
2. Oct 17, 2009: Music Rollercoaster
Dirty White Coats
5. Sep 25, 2009: Time Traveler
Dirty White Coats
3. Oct 09, 2009: Hipster Garbage
Dirty White Coats
6. Sep 24, 2009: The Alternatives
Dirty White Coats

Album Review
Truc Nguyen
Reviewed 2009-08-23
The Flying Change - Pain is a Reliable Signal

Indie folk singer-songwriter stuff with sadcore influences. The album sounds well-produced and the guy has a good voice. Context: the songs were written when his wife was experiencing health problems. All songs are probably of the same qualities. No FCCs.
Reviewed by Truc

1. (3:38) Somber alt folk song with piano in some parts.
2. (3:26) Slow song, sharp plucks, good production. Sounds like it could be on the soundtrack to Grey's Anatomy. Fade out.
3. (3:11)*** Meandering, minimalist arpeggios. Tense orchestra instruments and female accompaniment.
4. (2:28) Most straight forwardly country song on the album. Oddly uplifting at the end.
5. (3:00) Mid-tempo angsty song. More of an electric guitar influence on this one
6. (3:50) Soft, really slow song. Sounds really bare bones.
7. (2:13) Fuzzy slightly noisey guitars at the beginning becomes a poppier tune.
8. (4:20)** I dig the lyrics on this, wish there was less going on the beginning, gets jazzy towards the end. Warning!: this track ends with 30 seconds of silence.
9. (2:47) Sounds like he's just talking rhythmically, with very little instrumentals. Fade out with 8 seconds left.
10. (2:56) Super lethargic ending track. Just vox and soft piano.

Track Listing
1. Broken Bow   6. Hold My Heartache
2. The Mayo Clinic   7. St. Marys
3. Dirty White Coats   8. Don't Look Away
4. If You See Something   9. Burninng A Horse
5. The Ways That We Destroy Ourselves   10. The Northern Bay