Queen Ifrica / Montego Bay
Album: Montego Bay   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Queen Ifrica   Added:Jul 2009
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-02 Pull Date: 2009-10-04 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 13 Sep 6 Aug 30 Aug 23 Aug 16 Aug 9
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 1 3 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 27, 2021: Alphabet Soup
Lioness On The Rise
4. Nov 03, 2009: Quasi Music Therapy, Farmer Flapjack guest
Keep It To Yourself
2. Jul 22, 2013: Happy Hour
5. Oct 03, 2009: music casserole
Calling Africa
3. Jul 08, 2010: Happy Hour
6. Sep 26, 2009: New World Disorder
Don't Sign

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-08-03
Female roots/dancehall vocalist. Some very good tracks, but also some really dicey ones. Also all over the map in terms of production – track one sounds like it was recorded around the campfire out in the brush, but some other tracks are way too commercial sounding. A couple of songs are disturbing content-wise (track 8/13 is about being abused as a child, track 9 apparently is homophobic…) That said, tracks 2, 3, 7, 10, and especially track 5 are really good.
1. 5:12 *nyahbinghi drums and chants – very, VERY roots.
2. 3:35 ***pretty midtempo skank, reality check about one of Jamaica’s more popular parishes.
3. 4:06 ***video game electronics, slow skank, no idea what she’s going on about, but it sounds pretty cool…
4. 4:19 **very commercial sounding intro, then very relaxed midtempo skank. Pretty singing about being strong…
5. 3:31 ****chatting and nyahbinghi drums, then strong midtempo march, all about rasta power. Dancehall vocals, cool minimalist riddim.
6. 3:39 sweet and a bit commercially produced slightly uptempo skank, love song.
7. 3:59 ***cool midtempo video game riddim, look before you leap lyrics.
8. 4:10 creepy! midtempo relaxed skank, song all about being abused as child. I suppose it’s good to bring this sort of thing in the open, but it’s pretty disturbing to listen to…
9. 3:47 midtempo skank, telling de bad man to gwaan wit demselfs… Actually, when I listen closely, I think it’s a homophobic song. *sigh*
10. 3:32 ***nyabingh drums and ululations, both singing and dancehall chant.
11. 4:16 midtempo skank, deep alto singing, fantasy love song. I don’t really want to know, frankly.
12. 4:34 *acoustic guitar, very slow, no beat, commercially produced, very VERY sad reality song.
13. 4:18 *track 8, the child abuse song, in Spanish (it’s less disturbing when you don’t much understand it…) The piano’s quite good on this.

Track Listing
1. T.T.P.N.C.   7. Don't Sign
2. Montego Bay   8. Daddy
3. Coconut Shell   9. Keep It To Yourself
4. Lioness On The Rise   10. Calling Africa
5. Yad To The East   11. In My Dreams
6. Far Away   12. Streets Are Bloody
  13. Daddy (Spanish Version)