Gratkowski/Brown/Winant / Wake
Album: Wake   Collection:Jazz
Artist: Gratkowski/Brown/Winant   Added:Aug 2009
Label: Red Toucan  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-23 Pull Date: 2009-10-25 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Oct 18 Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 13 Sep 6
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 08, 2021: Rebroadcast: Music Casserole
4. Oct 13, 2009: Memory Select, guest Aram Shelton
2. Jun 20, 2015: Music Casserole
5. Oct 10, 2009: Music Casserole
3. Oct 14, 2009: public noize racket
6. Sep 29, 2009: Memory Select [new Tuesday time!]

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-08-13
Abstract improvised music from piano, percussion, and clarinet, plus some electronic manipulations of the sound. Lots of tunable timpani -- the bass drum where you can bend the sound after hitting it.

Instrumental, FCC clean.

Frank Gratkowski -- sax/clarinet
Chris Brown -- piano, electronics
William Winant -- percussion, including that cool tunable timpani

1- A busy and upbeat, playful clatter. Second half quiet. Some high points:
-21:00 ... nice segment with sublime piano, slappy metal percussion, and a high screech from clarinet. Then, tough-handed piano and vibraphone.
-16:40 ... coolly chattering percussion/electronics sounds
Midpoint ... very quiet. Still.
-8:30 ... quiet segment opens into soft piano, metallic electronics flying by
-4:40 ... Picks up volume and speed, into a loud timpani segment

2- Slow, an introspective crawl. Cool tuned-timpani bouncing sounds. Gets busier after -6:00, a tangle of sound like modern classical music. Last 3 minutes are quieter but fast, with liquidy insect-buzzing electronics.

3- Quite abstract and otherworldly. Buzzing and flapping sounds, especially from saxophone, and made even more abstract by the electronics playbacks. Really cool, but don't expect "jazz."

4- Serious tones. Blares like foghorns, which continue under hyper, nervous piano. Second half is more playful, with quizzical sax and melodic piano. High-toned frenzy near the end.

5- Sparse little sounds. After -9:30, it quickly gets loud and even explosive, with tense piano and scraping sax. After about -3:30, it simmers back down for a quiet ending, tranquil with a touch of menace.

Track Listing
1. Slide   3. Scrabble
2. Ambitus   4. Parallax
  5. Archipelago