Germano, Lisa / Magic Neighbor
Album: Magic Neighbor   Collection:General
Artist:Germano, Lisa   Added:Oct 2009
Label:Young God Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-01-10 Pull Date: 2010-03-14
Week Ending: Mar 7 Feb 14 Feb 7 Jan 31 Jan 17
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 23, 2021: Virutally Happy
Kitty Train
4. Mar 02, 2010: Ambient Annoyance
The Prince Of Plati
2. Jan 17, 2016: Breakaway Bluff
5. Feb 11, 2010: in the groove
3. Mar 03, 2010: Brownian Mojo
6. Feb 06, 2010: Music Casserole

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-01-07
Innovative female singer/songwriter, for fans of Laura Viers and (early) Liz Phair. Germano has a great voice which can be crystal clear, brimming with anger (à la pissed-off Cat Power), and anywhere in between. Songs are sometimes haunting, other times bittersweet, other times fanciful. Lots of strings, flutes, and some instrumental oddities. No FCCs.
Recommended tracks: 3, 6, 9, and 8 (for the more avant-garde).

1. Magical fairy-esque instrumental track with strings. [1:21]
2. Song starts despairingly, but turns bright midway… nice piano + strings accompaniment, which really emerges near the end. Nice, subtle track. [3:35]
3. Vocals sound almost Lucinda Williams-esque here. Stark acoustic guitar contrast with whimsical strings + flute to create a fantastic mix of the melancholy and magical. [2:56]
4. Sweet instrumental piano ballad, with tambourine and strings towards the end. [2:16]
5. Emotional and fairly sorrowful ballad. [3:28]
6. Sardonic love song, with simple guitar and nice vocal harmonies. Germano doing a drawl thing here again, like on track 3. Brief touches of accordion and recorder! [3:29]
7. Haunting track with vocals and simple piano up front. Some space age sounds and strings in the back starting in the middle, then a stark piano/vocal end. [2:50]
8. Pensive, slightly creepy track with dreamy vocals, chaotic bursts of piano, and some strange alien fetus whisperings towards the end. [3:07]
9. Melancholy, bare-bones track. Slow and beautifully simple. [4:17]
10. Atmospheric water nymph song/spell with pseudo-harp. Creepy-chic. [3:23]
11. Long ruminative instrumental intro with some butterfly centric bio-erotic lyrics towards the end. [3:00]

Track Listing
1. Marypan   6. A Million Times
2. To The Mighty One   7. Magic Neighbor
3. Simple   8. Suli-Mon
4. Kitty Train   9. Snow
5. The Prince Of Plati   10. Painting The Doors
  11. Cocoon