Dark Sunny Land / Kon Taan Kor
Album: Kon Taan Kor   Collection:General
Artist:Dark Sunny Land   Added:Oct 2009
Label:Gulcher Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-12-20 Pull Date: 2010-02-21
Week Ending: Feb 21 Feb 7 Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 18, 2010: Musically Assured Destruction
River Of Doubt
4. Jan 07, 2010: A2Z
River Of Doubt
2. Feb 04, 2010: orangeasm
Dying Factory
5. Jan 06, 2010: Lost Verses
River Of Doubt
3. Jan 15, 2010: A2Z
River Of Doubt
6. Dec 31, 2009: orangeasm: ending 2009 like a stallion
Shaky Spoon Blues

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-12-10
Drifts through industrial ruins. Guitar pluckings, field recordings, and eerier distant scrapings w/ feedback constructed into monolithic sonic landscapes with a brilliant sense of tension. Gloomy, bleak, heavy, and beautiful. Reminds me a lot of the sounds GYBE!'s the dead flag blues, without the pretention or posturing. Quality musicianship. Play this drive time, and make sure to follow it up with the suicide prevention psa. For fans of Edward Gorey, Mogwai, Guitars.

1-sprawling vast twangy guitars w/ feedback and huge low end sound. mammoth guitar canyonscape. bonus orchestration midway through.

2-gloom dungeon w/ shrills and dying factory noises, shrills. satan!?

3-mysterious fingerplucked guitar journey w. field recording, builds in intensity. reminds me of the x-files.

4-12 minute long gutiar drone guitar drift into unsettling jan svankmajer style nightmares, that becomes a mellower wash w/ unnerving scraping sounds like you're going to be butchered.

5-more frozen and spacious soundscape, different the rest of the album, hits a real bliss point in the middle and eases to the end.

6-13 minutes drift through a space junkyard of dead floating astronauts, hung from a resonating beacon. tension climaxes in the middle and near the end, but ends real quiet.

Track Listing
1. River Of Doubt   4. Kon Taan Kor
2. Dying Factory   5. Shaky Spoon Blues
3. The Coming   6. Reincarnation