Lucky Pineapple / Bubble Has Burst In Sky City, The
Album: Bubble Has Burst In Sky City, The   Collection:General
Artist:Lucky Pineapple   Added:Oct 2009
Label:Sona Blast Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-18 Pull Date: 2010-06-20
Week Ending: Jun 6 May 30 May 16 May 9 May 2
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 05, 2010: Buy Me Juice!
Pineapples Unlimited
4. May 13, 2010: Memory Select
Un Squelette Et Un Parapluie
2. Jun 01, 2010: Scram!
High Heels In The Sand
5. May 03, 2010: Not Palopop
Moonlight Spiderbite
3. May 23, 2010: The DJ Never Has It
6. Apr 25, 2010: The DJ Never Has It
Pineapples Unlimited

Album Review
Truc Nguyen
Reviewed 2010-11-03
Where to begin? This cover reminds me of Broken Social Scene’s self-titled, so I was kind of hoping they’d sound like BSS. Not really, but not bad either. Jangly proggy-art-punk/pop stuff that sometimes strikes me as self-indulgent. Sounds like a less pretentious Deerhoof, maybe? Mostly instrumental songs. No FCC’s

1. (5:15) Playful xylophone beat with discordant percussion. Repetative stuff that gets louder and faster 2 mins in. Cool bridge. Energetic and optimistic sounding.
2. (7:16) Loud and jarring percussion driven intro, mellows out into mid-tempo prog with some trumpets, slow male french voice interlaced with vocals. A little too long winded for me.
3. (1:38) Slow and fruity island beat interlude with steal drums, pretty kitschy stuff.
4. (8:15) Slow somberish trumpet intro. Hypnotic improvy slow beats with consistent jangly riffs.
5. (5:29) Abrupt intro, jaggy riffs, almost ska-like trumpets, this song is kind of a mess. Sort of mellows out at the end. Fade out with 6 sec left.
6. (6:12) Slow, pensive bluesy song.
7. (5:00) Rattly intro, proggy riffs.
8. (3:50) Slow song with accordians and tambourines and faint talking over bittersweet trumpets.

Track Listing
1. Moonlight Spiderbite   5. Sexxx
2. Un Squelette Et Un Parapluie   6. Undertown
3. Pineapples Unlimited   7. The Bubble Has Burst In Sky City (Currency Exchange Of The Hawkmen)
4. High Heels In The Sand   8. Moment In An Empty Street