King Khan & Bbq Show, The / Invisible Girl
Album: Invisible Girl   Collection:General
Artist:King Khan & Bbq Show, The   Added:Nov 2009
Label:In the Red Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-12-06 Pull Date: 2010-02-07
Week Ending: Feb 7 Jan 24 Jan 17 Jan 3 Dec 27 Dec 20 Dec 13
Airplays: 1 3 3 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 25, 2015: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Invisible Girl
4. Aug 10, 2014: Stringless Balloon
I'll Be Loving You
2. Mar 05, 2015: The Sunset Life
I'll Be Loving You
5. Jul 21, 2014: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
I'll Be Loving You
3. Oct 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
I'll Be Loving You
6. Jul 12, 2013: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Invisible Girl

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-11-17
King Khan & BBQ Show
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/17/09
Deranged garage/doo-wop/soul/punk duo. It’s kinda like if you took Hasil Adkins and split him into two equally gonzo people, and made them slightly closer to soul than redneck country, and you’d pretty much have these two, I think. (If you don’t know from Hasil Adkins, MEND YOUR WAYS NOW.) We’re not talking some guy with a big production rig and the other guy singing – one guy is playing a three-piece drumkit with his feet, guitar with his hands, and singing with god-knows-what, the other is just mangling both a guitar and his voice. MAD!
Major FCC in content on track 7, one FCC on 8.
All brilliant. I like 1, 5, and 6 best.
1. 2:56 ****Doo-wop love song. Twist-worthy, and you can bring it home to mom!
2. 4:01 **slow dance with monster reverb – stoned hippie surf rock.
3. 3:10 ***very jaunty, perky guitar (seems to have some sort of self-cancelling reverb) with philly soul vocals. Sincere as all get-out.
4. 3:37 ***psychedelic garage rock with spoken vocals. And animal noises. The Standells meet Howdy Doody. It’s actually quite good…
5. 3:18 ****super-jangly uptempo frug-a-go-go. AWESOME. Deeply inspired ploinking.
6. 4:44 ****gosh! Slow dance with farfisa, doo-wop… Grab your best girl, SMASH her up against your manly chest, and get ready to cry, cry, cry… Gets all disturbed and full of monsters for a couple of minutes.
7. 3:21 FCCs – starts out cute, goes completely obscene. Dammit! MAD. High speed garage rock for damaged people.
8. 2:38 FCC – pretty sure he says “fuckin” ***downtempo Ramones-esque, but with gnarly guitar solo.
9. 4:07 ***hollerin’ midtempo anthemic semi-psychedelic garage rock. There’s a deep message for young people here.
10. 2:29 **hyperactive surf/Ramones rock, somewhere between heartbreak hotel and creepy stalker.
11. 3:50 ***swingy, boppy midtempo garage-pop-punk with a bit of doo-wop.
12. 4:16 ***almost a real guitar line, vocals recorded in the bathroom, kinda psychedelic.

Track Listing
1. Anala   7. Tastebuds
2. Invisible Girl   8. Truth Or Dare
3. I'll Be Loving You   9. Crystal Ball
4. Animal Party   10. Lonely Boy
5. Spin The Bottle   11. Tryin'
6. Third Ave   12. Do The Chop