Hot Chip / One Life Stand
Album: One Life Stand   Collection:General
Artist:Hot Chip   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Emi Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-03-28 Pull Date: 2010-05-30
Week Ending: Apr 25 Apr 18 Apr 11 Apr 4
Airplays: 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 02, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
We Have Love
4. May 11, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants!
Take It In
2. Jan 22, 2020: soft boiled
Alley Cats
5. Jan 25, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
We Have Love
3. Mar 16, 2017: The Nucleus
One Life Stand
6. Jun 14, 2014: Saturday Mix
We Have Love

Album Review
Ranger Rick
Reviewed 2010-03-22
Genre: Electro Rock Pop
Grade: C (2 Stars)
RiYL: LCD Soundsystem, Digits, Pet Shop Boys, Junior Boys
FCC's: None
Performing in Oakland April 16

From the label that broke Basement Jaxx, comes the 4th studio album from "dance rockers," Hot Chip. Synths/girly male vox/ drums/bass. Follow the stars for quality control.

1. * (6:08) Poppy w/ :50 Building kick drum intro. Repetetive "happiness is what we all want" girly male vox.
2. (4:33) Catchy beat w/ same vox issues & add a new annoyance: incomprehensible lyrics + weak delivery.
3. * (4:41) Pleasant disco beat & soprano vox melody. Fake strings, steel drum.
4. ** (5:23) Electro beat w/ "White Horse" sound incl. steel drum, a breakdown, OMG comprehensible lyrics. 80's Club Rock returns. Title track.
5. (4:21) Epic fail Re: "brothers." Alternate singer solo intro, uptempo kick drum. Vocal harmonies.
6. (6:29) Quiet piano, soft guitar. Crank it up to feel like a wuss, or turn down to fall asleep.
7. (5:21) Alternate vocalist. Weak lyrical content and delivery. Decent production.
8. ** (4:28) Production highlight with vocal FX over a dance beat.
9. * (4:02) Slow. Booming bass, dreamy vox, layers of elements, alternating vocalists.
10. (4:10) Minor to major chord progression. Vocal harmonies. Dance beat.

Track Listing
1. Thieves In The Night   6. Slush
2. Hand Me Down Your Love   7. Alley Cats
3. I Feel Better   8. We Have Love
4. One Life Stand   9. Keep Quiet
5. Brothers   10. Take It In