Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs / Medicine County
Album: Medicine County   Collection:General
Artist:Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs   Added:Apr 2010
Label:Transdreamer Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-11 Pull Date: 2010-06-13
Week Ending: Jun 13 Jun 6 May 30 May 23 May 16 May 9 May 2 Apr 25
Airplays: 1 1 4 4 3 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 02, 2015: Breakaway Radio Bluff
Don't Fail Me Now
4. Jun 02, 2010: Brownian Motion
2. May 19, 2011: Daydream Disaster
5. May 27, 2010: The Orphanage Thursday Edition!
3. Jun 06, 2010: The DJ Never Has It
Medicine County
6. May 27, 2010: The Knife
When He Comes

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-04-04
Original member of the Headcoatees (band formed by the girlfriends of Billy Childish's The Headcoats back in the 80’s) takes up up the dirt road leading to drunk smarmy country, bluegrass and blues. Less reliant on gratuitous deep twang and retro-isms, garage, as in the past, but elements still there. This is heavier on the western and blues smarm. Fans of garbage can drums, Bad Seeds, Tom Waits, Doo Rag/Bob Log as well as Neko Case take heed. Listening to this CD makes you feel like you drank a sixpack of Black Label, or Strohs. Turns out she has collaborated with Jack White and contributed 2 songs to the great Jim Jarmusch film “Broken Flowers” (see it!!).

1) exotica flavor, smarmy hip-grinding bachelor pad sex music
2) honky tonk drunken bluesy mashup, Doo Rag/Bob Log as performed by a full band
3) upbeat western, pretty, Neko Case comes to mind, killer baritone guitar type stuff
4) upbeat bluegrassy western honky tonk
5) bar blues band feel, midpaced swingy, “murder in my mind”
6) drunken western waltz, seedy bar friendly
7) Doo Rag/Bob Log’esque bassless upbeat street blues
8) midpaced western blues swing
9) upbeat western swing
10) slow sad western blues, funny how her voice is more amenable to mindless happy garage, send in Neko to pull this one off
11) dark triplet waltz, dirty, could almost be a Bad Seeds cover, Neko Case
12) Tom Waits low fi smokey feel, banjo in there

Track Listing
1. Forget It   7. When He Comes
2. Two Left Feet   8. Escalator
3. Medicine County   9. Eyes In The Back Of My Head
4. I Can't Lose   10. Dearly Departed
5. Murder In My Mind   11. Don't Fail Me Now
6. Blood On The Saddle   12. Jack O'diamonds