Amidon, Sam / I See The Sign
Album: I See The Sign   Collection:General
Artist:Amidon, Sam   Added:May 2010
Label:Bedroom Community  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-03-27 Pull Date: 2011-05-29
Week Ending: May 29 Apr 10 Apr 3
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 23, 2011: You Aren't Going to Sasquatch
Pretty Fair Damsel
3. Apr 04, 2011: Child's Play
Way Go, Lily
2. Apr 05, 2011: Bisous Bijoux
Pretty Fair Damsel
4. Mar 28, 2011: &tc.
You Better Mind

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-03-19
Melancholy Folk – Sam Amidon has drawn inspiration from his ancestral connections to Appalachian folk to craft this album, a collection of original writing and covers of traditional folk and modern song covers. Characterized by Sam’s lackadaisical vocal delivery, with accents from heavy bass, strings, and a scattering of female vocals, Sam seems to intentionally flatten his vocal delivery, enough to make his covers hardly recognizable – and yet the subdued nature of these songs is what makes them so intriguing. No FCC’s.
Vocals sound like Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Piers Faccini. Backing instrumentals like Sufjan Stevens'.
My picks: 1, 2, 3, 8, 10

1) *(3.32) Mid. Traditional folk lyrics and chord progressions with new wave production; ends with electric-feel.
2) *(4:18) Slow-mid. Meditative folk with whispery vocals. Floaty female vocals mirror the lead.
3) *(3:18) Mid, upbeat. Female co-lead provides variation in the vocals. Nice instrumental crescendos. Sheets of strings.
4) (6:15)Slow. Short, urgent yet trailing lyrical phrases with a lazy backing track. Sassy strings.
5) (2:29)Slow. Looping verses, nursery-rhyme feel.
6) (3:07)Slow-mid. Lyrics sound like from an Irish ballad, but with folk guitar.
7) (2:59)Slow. Simple harp-like guitar. Soothing, low-key lyrics.
8) *(3:56)Slow. The traditional song played as if for someone’s funeral (slow, meditative, but in a good way!)
9) (3:05)Slow. Tune set to the format of “She’ll be comin’ round the mountain when she comes”, but clearly slower, with banjo
10) *(5:22)Slow-mid. R.Kelly cover. Banjo, melancholy strings and duet with female Builds slowly throughout.
11) (3:42)Slow-mid. Disoriented vocal and instrumental interaction. Experimental feel.
12) (4:20)Slow-mid. Shorter version of #10.


Track Listing
1. How Come That Blood   7. Kedron
2. Way Go, Lily   8. Rain And Snow
3. You Better Mind   9. Climbing High Mountains
4. I See The Sign   10. Relief
5. Johanna The Row-Di   11. Red
6. Pretty Fair Damsel   12. Relief (Single Edit)