New Pornographers, The / Together
Album: Together   Collection:General
Artist:New Pornographers, The   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-06-13 Pull Date: 2010-08-15
Week Ending: Aug 15 Aug 8 Jul 25 Jul 18 Jul 11 Jul 4 Jun 27 Jun 20
Airplays: 2 3 1 1 4 2 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 17, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Crash Years
4. Dec 02, 2016: Time Traveler
Crash Years
2. Apr 16, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Crash Years
5. Jul 15, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Crash Years
3. May 29, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Your Hands (Together)
6. Jun 17, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Crash Years

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-06-14
Genre: Indie-Rock
FCC: 7
My Favorites: 1, 3, 12, 9
General: Louder and a bit more diverse than the 2007 album Challengers. Energy infused indie-rock composed with dimensional arrangements and lofty pop hooks —Sweet mix of crunchy guitar, rhythm rustling string sections, male/female vox that tastes like Peanut Butter and Jelly on a good day.

1.) Heavy bows start this one into a jangly pop tune with Doolittle-ERA pixie undertones, plus Neko Case
2.) Starts right quick like a Beach Boys tune but with female vox, in chorus male vox joins and reminds me of good 80’s pop rock with whistlers
3.) Loud guitars, tambourine, staccato piano, female/male vox unionized magic
4.) Classic and predictable NP song, complementary Neko Case vocals, 70s rock vibe, driving catchy chord progression, lots of piano and strings
5.) Piano, catchy indie-rock shuffle, hand-claps, ohh the works
6.) Slower ballad showcasing female vox
7.) Nothing to brag about here, little repetitive, Jesus and Mary chain distortion over acoustic guitar HAPPINESS, satisfying sarcasm in Elliott Smith fashion
8.) Begins with drums, sick acoustic/electric guitar hooks, solid structure
9.) Emotional, starts with sitar, and piano playing, bitter love song, this is the purpose of POP music—basically redeeming people who fuck up the genre
10.) More strings hooks, kind of random song, no much vox, electric guitar solo
11.) Bump, bump, bump, HOLD….. then delicate love ballad -duh electric and acoustic duoing
12.) Male vox, acoustic, cello, killing the beginning in a good way, great great build with a sick string hook and drums

Track Listing
1. Moves   7. If You Can't See My Mirrors
2. Crash Years   8. Up In The Dark
3. Your Hands (Together)   9. Valkyrie In The Roller Disco
4. Silver Jenny Dollar   10. A Bite Out Of My Bed
5. Sweet Talk, Sweet Talk   11. Daughters Of Sorrow
6. My Shepard   12. We End Up Together