Phoresis / Letters To Canberra
Album: Letters To Canberra   Collection:General
Artist:Phoresis   Added:Jul 2010
Label:Red Shift/Blue Shift Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-01-09 Pull Date: 2011-03-13
Week Ending: Mar 13 Feb 13 Feb 6 Jan 30 Jan 23
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 09, 2011: Brownian Motion
Star Walker
4. Jan 27, 2011: The Independent Mind
2. Feb 09, 2011: Brownian Motion
Star Walker
5. Jan 24, 2011: The Independent Mind
3. Feb 02, 2011: Brownian Motion
Star Walker
6. Jan 23, 2011: The Donner Party
Our New Home

Album Review
Sophia Vo
Reviewed 2010-12-31
Melodramatic indie pop. Phoresis has an eclectic sound, from rushed folk rock to Coldplay-esque experimental songs. Songs without lyrics are generally seven minutes long.

*1. Ambient, airy strings with slow vocals. Good for background music. 2. Elevator-music-like soft cymbals and keyboarding. *3. Upbeat, haunting and suspenseful. Multi-vocal chorus. 4. Acoustic guitar with synth keyboarding. Jangly and more experimental with whispered spoken words. 5. Heavy bass and synth, acoustic guitar; moody. No lyrics. 6. Aggressive mix of echoing vocals and synth keyboarding. Electric guitar riffs. No lyrics. 7. Steady snare drums, mostly ambient with languid guitar riffs. No lyrics. 8. Marching snares, electric guitar melody, synth keyboarding. Becomes more aggressive. *9. Airy, suspenseful. Synth keyboard melody. Scattered strumming of acoustic guitar. Culminates in ensemble vocals that heighten suspense. **Long ending of white noise. *10. Synth keyboard melody. Alternates between upbeat and languid.

Track Listing
1. Our New Home   6. Star Walker
2. Earthlight   7. Somnium
3. To The Sun   8. Harpy
4. Further   9. Origins
5. Delva   10. Consciousness Until Encounter