Sisters / Ghost Fits
Album: Ghost Fits   Collection:General
Artist:Sisters   Added:Oct 2010
Label:Narnack Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-03-06 Pull Date: 2011-05-08
Week Ending: Apr 24 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13
Airplays: 3 4 3 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 20, 2011: The Independent Mind
4. Mar 31, 2011: The Independent Mind
Ghost Fits, Leaving Home
2. Apr 19, 2011: Treeswinger Radio
Highway Scratch
5. Mar 29, 2011: anti-heroine
Highway Scratch
3. Apr 19, 2011: Bisous Bijoux
6. Mar 29, 2011: Indie English
Wake Me Up

Album Review
Richard Davila
Reviewed 2011-02-27
Sisters – Ghost Fire (Narnack Records)

At its heart this is a lo-fi pop rock record. The monster brick wall sound may make you think of some noisier bands like My Bloody Valentine, but really this is more akin to the hooky 90s alt-rock pop on some early Pale Saints. Aaron Pfannebecker’s vocals are un-energetic but passionate and get the hooks just right. I like the lack of reverb-washing on the vocals and the whole production in general—there is no over doing it here. After hearing so many bands use a lo-fi sound to mask their insecurities lately, here is a band that sounds completely comfortable rockin out. If you’re into Male Bonding, Lovvers, Puro Instinct, and the likes then rock this. FCC clean. Try: 3, 6, 11 - Doublestuf
1. Wall of guitars, but not overwhelming. Very warm, simple sound. Aaron’s voice comes out, a slow punk drawl: “this is the curse” 3:13.
2. Building. Up-beat. Confident. 4: 07.
3. Noisy, catchy chaos. Lead guitar line behind chorus is moving 3:16
4. Very punk. Particularly buzzy 2:58
5. Starts like a day-dream before waking you up to full consciousness. The use of reverb and delay works well here. 3:47
6. Poppy, glockenspiel melody. Bouncy. When the electric guitars bust in, you can’t help but dance around 2:39.
7. Discordant surf rock sounding. 3:56
8. Happy surf post punk without the poppy vocals 3:36
9. Filler track. It’s all over the place 4:23
10. Super noisy. Awesome drums from the jungle 3:39
11. Noise wash. Juxtaposition of his voice and the noise is pretty cool. Ends with about 10 seconds of silence.

Track Listing
1. The Curse   6. Highway Scratch
2. Glue   7. Courthouse
3. Sky   8. Here It Comes
4. Synes The Sia   9. Leaving Home
5. Wake Me Up   10. Visions
  11. Ghost Fits