Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Avey Tare / Down There
Album:Down There Collection:General
Artist:Avey Tare Added:11/2010
Label:Paw Tracks 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2010-11-07 Pull Date:2011-01-09 
Week Ending:9 Jan2 Jan19 Dec12 Dec5 Dec28 Nov21 Nov14 Nov

Recent Airplay
1.Wed, 13 Apr 16:Plobs
The Offbeat Generation
4.Wed, 13 Jul 11:Thomas
Not That Simple
2.Wed, 24 Apr 13:Carly & Hillstreet
Gurlz Rule
5.Thu, 19 May 11:Ashleigh & Carly
A Family Affair
3.Sun, 11 Dec 11:Hillstreet & London-Bridges
6.Sun, 02 Jan 11:FLASHBANG

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-11-03 
The excellent debut release from Animal Collective's lead singer/guitarist, Avey Tare. While it is easy to draw comparisons of this album to other Animal Collective work, it is darker, slower, and leans more towards experimental electronica. While bandmates Panda Bear and Geologist tend to focus on sample-based production, Avey Tare turns to a more organic atmospheric approach with earthy, muddy beats. Most of the tracks maintain a distinct dark sheen and haunting confused lyrics.

RIYL: Animal Collective, Nosaj Thing, The Knife, Aphex Twin

FCC: Track 1

Try: 3, 9 ,2, 5, 8

1. (FCC) A dark atmosphere leads into a deep, resonating beat with lots of accordion samples and glitch electronics. Heavy, emotional lyrics.
2. A thick, haze of xylophone tinkering, and bright sunny electronics. Like swimming underwater with a magnificent shimmering school of fish.
3. Abstract psych washes coupled with a relentless sparse metallic beat. Excellent.
4. A chilling bubbly drone. All vocals are distorted beyond recognition and are swampy and thick. Creepy as hell and cold as ice.
5. Muddy flanger sounds and a pounding laserbass beat. Confusing and experimental with a complex song structure.
6. A haunting graveyard romp through washes of drone and eerie whispery lyrics. The song ends with a one-minute soundscape of ethereal foundsound collages and stuttering keyboards.
7. A wobbly midtempo bass beat with lots of video game bips and boops complimented by clattered snares. The lyrics are layered and are smeared with an auto-tuned sheen.
8. More underwater-distorted ooze-tube electronic with panicked lyrics. Subtle guitar notes.
9. The lead single. An infectious grinding synth beat with classic Animal Collective layered vocals and smooth lilty keyboard lines. Lots of varied percussion—all sorts of shit is banging around in the background a la STOMP.

Track Listing
1.Laughing Hieroglyphic 5.Ghost Of Books
2.3 Umbrellas 6.Cemeteries
3.Oliver Twist 7.Heads Hammock
4.Glass Bottom Boat 8.Heather In The Hospital
 9.Lucky 1