Lenore, Shawna & Darrell Kastin / Mar Portugues
Album: Mar Portugues   Collection:World
Artist:Lenore, Shawna & Darrell Kastin   Added:Feb 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-27 Pull Date: 2012-01-29 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 29 Dec 18
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 28, 2012: At the Cafe Bohemian
O Desejado
2. Dec 17, 2011: Music Casserole
O Meo Impossivel

Album Review
Kamla Bhatt
Reviewed 2011-10-31
Mar Portugues

Mar Portugues (Portugese Sea) is a tribute to 2 well-known poets-Florbela Espanca & Fernando Pessoa. Darell Kasti & Shawna Leonore (father-daughter) create musical alchemy in this compilation of poem-songs. Sung in Portuguese in a warm, melodic & soulful manner the album evokes emotions ranging from gentle happiness to quiet and pensive moods.You want to listen to the album when you crave for poetry, quiet & calm atmosphere.

There are 3 bonus track towards the end that are worth listening.

Try 1, 2, 3, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
1. Gentle & evocative singing.
2. Slow & beautiful.
3. Poetic - even if the meaning escapes you.
4.Darell Kasti’s sings this track that sounds almost like an aria from an
Opera. Strong & dramatic voice.
5. Lovely songs with just a hint of passion.
6. Sad. Definitely puts you in a mellow mood.
7. Haunting & emotional
8. There is bit of everything here quiet, sad & dare I say “fadosish?”
9. The opening accordion notes bars reminds you of sea & sand. Soulful.
10. Sad with longing? This reminds you of traditional fado songs.
11. Filled with longing & sadness.
12. Lovely & beautiful melody that showcases both Darell & Shawna’s voices.
13. Beautiful song that sounds like a renewal of some sort.
14. Hauntingly beautiful.
15. Darell Kasti’s recites in his beautiful, baritone voice & then Leonore sings the title song.
16. Once again Darrell Kastis recites a stanza of a poem in his beautiful voice & Leonore’s haunting voice floats in to sing the track. Beautiful.
17. Darrell Kastis in English how this album was conceived & created both in US & Portugal.

Kamla Oct 30 2011

Track Listing
1. Mar Portugues   8. A Morte
2. Voz Que Se Cala   9. O Desejado
3. Sonho Vago   10. Conto De Fadas
4. Dom Sebastao   11. Ode
5. O Maior Bem   12. O Nosso Livro
6. Caravelas   13. Amar
7. O Meo Impossivel   14. Se Tu Viesses Ver-Me