Haas, Andy / Paradise Of Ashes
Album: Paradise Of Ashes   Collection:General
Artist: Haas, Andy   Added:Feb 2011
Label: Resonant Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-02-13 Pull Date: 2011-04-17
Week Ending: Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 20 Mar 13 Feb 20
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 08, 2011: gilt
The Devil Is Loose In The World
4. Mar 16, 2011: Brownian Motion
The Devil Is Loose In The World
2. Apr 07, 2011: Circus Peanutgasm
Paradise Of Ashes
5. Mar 09, 2011: Brownian Motion
Akai Hashi (Red Bridge)
3. Apr 02, 2011: Music Casserole
Bonjour Tristesse
6. Feb 16, 2011: Brownian Motion
The Devil Is Loose In The World

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-02-08
Imagine Kenny G on Qualuudes playing slow mournful sax melodies over a soundbed DJ Brick put together by playing 4 cassette tapes backwards at the same time. Andy Haas was a player in the new wave band Martha and the Muffins (1978-81) and has been living in NYC for 2 decades and its obvious that he drinks straight from the tap in his bombed out 6 floor walkup. All instrumental, soundbeds vary but the melodic solo sax themes stay consistent. Great trippy stuff.

1) heavy near-electro latin hip hop beat, melodic sax
2) slow tribal plod
3) strange pulsing percussion with slow sax, reminds me of my clothes dryer
4) scattered and tribal
5) slow minimal dirge
6) upbeat tribal
7) slower plod dirge
8) really bizarre soundbed, backwards masked dirgey slow sickness
9) slow trippiness
10) clunky clanging percussion
11) interesting electro rhythmic sound bed
12) ambient creepy epic version of “Paper Moon”

Track Listing
1. New Maladies Of The Soul   7. Akai Hashi (Red Bridge)
2. Cup Of Loneliness   8. The Devil Is Loose In The World
3. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning   9. Paradise Of Ashes
4. Enta Omr (You Are My Life)   10. Everytime We Say Goodbye
5. My Life Would Suck Without You   11. Bonjour Tristesse
6. Khallma Alallah (Leave It To G-D)   12. It's Only A Paper Moon