Puro Instinct / Headbangers In Ecstasy
Album: Headbangers In Ecstasy   Collection:General
Artist:Puro Instinct   Added:Feb 2011
Label:Mexican Summer  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-02-27 Pull Date: 2011-05-01
Week Ending: Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6
Airplays: 3 1 2 4 3 1 7 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 03, 2017: moodswings
Lost At Sea
4. Apr 20, 2011: Brownian Motion
Everybody's Sick
2. Mar 20, 2016: Breakaway Bluff: The Best of the Last
Everybody's Sick
5. Apr 20, 2011: brain drip
Silky Eyes
3. May 26, 2011: A Family Affair
Luv Goon
6. Apr 20, 2011: The Donner Party
Everybody's Sick

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-02-22
Pretty. Echoey vocals, female fronted dreamy pop from our friends at Mexican Summer who gave us the recent Tamaryn, No Joy, Black Ryder and Best Coast. But unlike some of the previous this one lacks the My Bloody Valentine damage or the Holly Go Lightly worship and instead turns just plain pop, in the realm of the Cure, smattering of Siouxsie and the Banshees, Cardigans. A certain 80’s or even 70’s nod to pure pretty pop, with jangly chorus pedaled guitars and a sheen of echo. Gleeful. Pretty stuff, that succeeds in melting even my solid black rock ice of a heart, destined to chart high on KZSU.

1) brief (awesome!) AM radio’esque intro to band that should be played with the next track for sure
2) lovely lilting dream pop with a certain 60’s Family Affair innocence, with birds chirping as a background to crystalline female vocals, Mazzy Star/Hope Sandoval?
3) very happy, shiny and pretty cute pop, no room for cynicism
4) very brief weird radio-like sample, play with next
5) even more upbeat shiny happy pop that smacks of early Cure if only cuz of spacey chorus effects
6) pretty and interesting guitar leads, upbeat pop
7) another very brief radio’esque sample
8) a bit trippier and ethereal in the pop
9) guitar arpeggios, drum machine, some sax, distant feel
10) another brief sample
11) little bit of funky disco’y pop going on here
12) more cute pop
13) dark familiar guitar theme to this, upbeat
14) again, a cool intro that should be played with following
15) upbeat, joyous, gleeful!

Track Listing
1. Kdod 1   8. Stilyagi
2. Everybody's Sick   9. Escape Forever
3. Lost At Sea   10. Kdod 4
4. Kdod 2   11. No Mames
5. Silky Eyes   12. Vapor Girls
6. Slivers Of You   13. California Shakedown
7. Kdod 3   14. Kdod 5
  15. Luv Goon