Cuadrado, Alexis / Noneto Ibérico
Album:Noneto Ibérico Collection:Jazz
Artist:Cuadrado, Alexis Added:Mar 2011
Label:Bju: Brooklyn Jazz Underground 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2011-03-20 Pull Date:2011-05-22 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:May 22May 15May 8May 1Apr 24Apr 17Apr 10Apr 3

Recent Airplay
1.Aug 12, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum: Saturday Edition
Por La Mínima
4.May 13, 2011:No Cover, No Minimum
Very Well
2.Mar 28, 2014:No Cover, No Minimum
Te Sigo
5.May 10, 2011:broken flowers
Los Panchitos
3.May 20, 2011:No Cover, No Minimum
Te Sigo
6.May 10, 2011:Rebop
Very Well

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-03-19 
BJU, 2011

MODERN JAZZ – A lengthy suite for nine musicians, this ambitious work by bassist Cuadrado draws upon the rhythms and unique structures of various flamenco song forms, merging them seamlessly into a sophisticated modern jazz context. The top-flight band gives a strong performance, and the recording quality is excellent. Very good stuff, beware abrupt endings.

Perico Sambeat, Loren Stillman : saxophones
Avishai Cohen : trumpet, flugelhorn
Alan Ferber : trombone
Brad Shepik : guitar
Dan Tepfer : piano, Fender Rhodes
Alexis Cuadrado : bass
Mark Ferber : drums
Marc Miralta : percussion

Fo’s Picks: 1, 3, 4, 6, 8

1. 11:00 – moaning intro; then forward propulsion with busy rhythmic conversation under layered horns; assertive bass solo & jabbing soprano sax
2. 7:34 – upbeat, bouncing feel with handclaps: optimistic piano, bright trumpet
3. 7:10 – an air of exotic mystery; trombone moans, guitar quietly takes flight
4. 17:36 – driving tune builds up from layers of minimalist pulses, brief repeated phrases and speedy flamenco rhythms; hot alto sax solo, comes to full with 5 minutes to go and patterns reset
5. 6:16 – improvisational wail over dark theme: guitar & alto sax share the lead
6. 9:59 – churning uptempo theme: trumpet slices through, sax mulls it over
7. 7:46 – relaxed pace: humid feel with bass/piano out front; surges & falls at end
8. 7:27 – snappy, upbeat groove: all the horns trade solos, drummer gets some

[ Fo ] 03/19/11

Track Listing
1.Very Well 5.Sólo El Sol Sale Siempre Solo
2.Tocar Y Parar 6.Draconium
3.Te Sigo 7.A Tientas
4.Por La Mínima 8.Los Panchitos