Spice, Richie / Book Of Job
Album: Book Of Job   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Spice, Richie   Added:Apr 2011
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-04-24 Pull Date: 2011-06-26 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 22 May 15
Airplays: 1 2 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 18, 2011: New World Disorder
4. Jun 04, 2011: New World Disorder
Serious Woman
2. Jun 11, 2011: New World Disorder
Soothing Sound
5. May 21, 2011: New World Disorder
My Life
3. Jun 05, 2011: Poetry in Parlando
Legalize It
6. May 18, 2011: Initial MB's Demo
Legalize It, Better Tomorrow

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2011-04-21
Richie Spice – Book of Job
Reviewed by Sadie O., 4/21/11
Fine roots rock riddims, endearingly warts-and-all singing (think Sizzla) – rather too perfect female backing vocals and commercial production for my taste, but that’s a small price to pay for a mostly Vocoder-free Jamaican release.
No FCCs detected.
1. 4:30 **rather downtempo bubble, positivity lyrics – props to Richie for trying to sing WAY out of his range, without prettying it up electronically.
2. 4:52 ***midtempo skank with interesting noises, hard times lyrics.
3. 3:32 **midtempo bubble, relaxed vibe, hard times lyrics.
4. 4:20 *a bit downtempo, very sweet love song.
5. 3:16 **midtempo, rather commercial production, in praise of Rastafarian woman hood.
6. 4:13 ***interesting riddim – orchestral sounds, Spanish-style guitar, bit of lover’s rock guitar stutter… Love song. Richie’s rather odd vocals contrast nicely with the super-pretty guitar sound.
7. 3:59 ***midtempo, praise of sound system dances. Kind of mellow for the subject matter, but I guess this is the stoner party… I think the lyrics are pretty funny, actually.
8. 4:10 ****very perky riddim, lots of la-la-la. Bit of nyahbinghi, legalize pot lyrics.
9. 3:48 ***jaunty upbeat skank, rather commercial production, but the lyrics are fun…
10. 4:37 **upbeat yet relaxed skank, rasta lyrics (some rather odd – “just like a fork without a lift, just like a light without a spliff…”)
11. 4:18 *aw hell – vocoder. Well, if you can hack vocoder and commercial production, this is jaunty midtempo rasta praise song.
12. 4:59 ***bouncy midtempo bubble with fairly nutted vocals.

Track Listing
1. Better Tomorrow   7. Soothing Sound
2. My Life   8. Legal
3. Confirmation   9. Yap Yap
4. Mother Of Creation   10. Find Jah
5. Black Woman   11. Jah Never Let Us Down (Album Version)
6. Serious Woman   12. Father