Coffey, Dennis / Dennis Coffey
Album: Dennis Coffey   Collection:General
Artist:Coffey, Dennis   Added:Jun 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-08-21 Pull Date: 2011-10-23
Week Ending: Aug 28
Airplays: 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 26, 2011: Wee Animalcules
Don't Knock My Love
2. Aug 21, 2011: TillamockingBird
7th Galaxy

Album Review
Allen Thayer
Reviewed 2011-08-17
By the Ambassador

Funky Fuzz Guitar legend is back after a long hiatus with a new solo album on Strut. For the hip-hop heads, this is the dude behind the “Scorpio” break. Like a funkier version of the Santana model, this album has lots of guest stars to add vocals and other textures to Coffey’s guitar grandiosity. Production is tight, but still gritty when it needs to be. There’s no doubt he’s got chops for days, but the album as a whole lacks cohesiveness as not all of the songs showcase Coffey’s guitar in equal measure. FCC clean. Try #1 instrumental, #4 vocal, #10 instrumental

1) ** Incendiary instrumental that kicks the album off with a punch, driving rhythm section and wailing guitar, 2)* remake of one of Coffey’s better known back-up sessions originally for Wilson Pickett and now with a vocal from Fanny Franklin of Orgone, who sounds a lot like Ann Peebles. Starts of strong but loses steam at the end; 3) Mayer Hawthorne guests on this one with traditional Motown styled arrangement, but kinda lackluster; 4)** remake of the classic Funkadelic psych-funk nugget with the Dirt Bombs and Detroit Cobras supporting – faithful cover and recaptures the raw power of the original – funk-rawk at its best; 5) Kings Go Forth add texture to this Coffey funky instrumental guitar jam; 6) Lisa Kekaula of the Bellrays guests, but this song is everything I hate about older dudes doing new albums – just sounds canned; 7)* cool, mid-tempo psychedelic ditty with ghostly vocals, but very short; 8) instrumental pop-funk stomper with chorus vocals, kinda sounding like a trippy game show theme song from 1972; 9) * cool remake of the Rodriguez tune that Coffey original produced – Paolo Nutini does a fine job on vocals – I think I’d still rather play the original as nothing beats Rodriguez’ lyrical intensity; 10)** Trippy instrumental groover, that takes “space” as a starting point, but doesn’t get too “out there” overall nice track that lets Coffey and band stretch out; 11) the original part 2 has been a personal favorite for its trippy take on the A-side – this recaptures some of that creative spirit, but not nearly as crazy.

Track Listing
1. 7th Galaxy   6. Somebody's Been Sleeping
2. Don't Knock My Love   7. Plutonius
3. All Your Goodies Are Gone   8. Knockabout
4. I Bet You   9. Only Good For Conversation
5. Miss Millie   10. Space Traveller
  11. Don't Knock My Love (Part 2)