Atari Teenage Riot / Is This Hyperreal
Album: Is This Hyperreal   Collection:General
Artist:Atari Teenage Riot   Added:Jun 2011
Label:Dim Mak  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-09 Pull Date: 2011-12-11

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 18, 2022: Alien Hour
Blood In My Eyes
3. Nov 12, 2021: Alien Hour
Blood In My Eyes
2. Jan 23, 2022: Windowlicker
Blood In My Eyes

Album Review
Kyle Vandenberg
Reviewed 2011-09-29
Atari Teenage Riot: Is This Hyperreal?: This self-proclaimed ‘digitalism hardcore’ (read: heavy electronica with intense beats and crazy vocals) group’s first album in over 10 years. This album is basically a protest against attempts to restrict/control freedom in the Internet age. Lots of fast beats, loud/almost screamed vocals, and heavy synths and electric guitar. FCC tracks 1, Try 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 (total coincidence it was all the evens…)
1) FCC “fuck” Screamed vocals, rapidfire beats, and heavy distorted electric guitar/bass.
2) Heavy electric guitar, lighter synths, female vocalist who sounds like a not-stupid Avril Lavigne. Kind of frightening sounding, but catchy.
3) Heavy guitar riff, loud male/female vox. Like metal electronica?
4) Title track. Questioning echo-y spoken words, with sparse distorted synths. Sounds desolate and dystopian/postapocalyptic.
5) FCC “fuck” Steady loud drums, with intense electric guitar and angry vocals.
6) Catchy dark synths with slightly distorted female vocals. Calm sections interspersed throughout (an anomaly on this album!).
7) Conspiracy theory lyrics with slow drums and fast/heavy electric guitar chords. Beatmachines.
8) Sounds like if TRON was punk. Deep bass beat, spoken female vocals, some dark synths.
9) Crazy-rapid beatmachines, with layered male/female near-screaming.
10) A heavy electric guitar melody and stadium-sounding chorus of voices. But from 4 minutes on, it’s creepy robot voices and tapping.
Kyle Vandenberg

Track Listing
1. Activate! Feat. Cx Kidtronik   6. Shadow Identity
2. Blood In My Eyes   7. Re-Arrenge Your Synapses Feat. Cx Kidtronik
3. Black Flags Feat. Jeff Aug   8. Digital Decay
4. Is This Hyperreal?   9. The Only Slight Glimmer Of Hope
5. Codebre Aker Feat. Steve Aoki   10. Collapse Of History