Clams Casino / Rainforest
Album: Rainforest   Collection:Missing
Artist:Clams Casino   Added:Jul 2011
Label:Tri Angle  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-07-17 Pull Date: 2011-09-18
Week Ending: Sep 18 Sep 11 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 10, 2016: radio seven
4. Mar 16, 2013: Flipping Through Time
2. Jun 02, 2013: Tea Parties and the Hip Hop Revelation
5. Feb 02, 2013: Flipping Through Time
3. Apr 28, 2013: The Crooked Spoke Adjacent
6. Jan 05, 2013: Flipping Through Time

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-07-10
The second EP from Mike Volpe, a NYC-based producer who is a physical therapist by day, and produces music on an old Dell in his spare time. Surprisingly, his left-field atmospheric beats have been scooped up by many-a-mainstream based rapper (Lil B, Squadda B, and even…Soulja Boy(???)), but don’t let that give you the wrong impression. These beats are definitely something you wouldn’t expect to hear on WiLD 94.9. More about textures than rhythmic consistency, this EP packs a heavy punch with its dark organic elements, chilling vocal samples and complex drum machines. Immediately brings Amon Tobin, Boards of Canada and Ganjasufi to mind, and it probably wouldn't hurt to throw Four Tet in the mix. A great sophomore effort that was just released on Tri Angle Records, the home of works by oOoOO and Balam Acab.


*1. Menacing and cryptic—stutter step drums, gentle sitar lines, broken clockwork, and Distorted female vocals falling into the abyss. Gorgeous.
*2. Heady and expansive. Deep fluctuating guitar rhythms coursing along a slowly plodding beat. Plenty of backwards looped samples, chirping birds and a few rumbling droning tones.
3. Buzzy and hissing with the tweeters turned all the way up for a very “bright” and washed-out effect. Hard-hitting 808 drums, looped horns, and distorted opera samples.
*4. The darkest and spookiest of the lot. And the only one with comprehensible vocals—a small snippet about “footsteps.” Amazing drumbeats, and rhythmic vocal samples used as percussive elements that duel with crashing piano lines. Brother, this is far-out.
5. The lead single. A harsh cymbal-laden beat, echoed vocals that stretch the very recording medium, haunted house effects. Coming to a Low End Theory party near you.

Track Listing
1. Natural   3. Waterfalls
2. Treetop   4. Drowning
  5. Gorilla