Disco Nihilist / Running (Far Away)
Album: Running (Far Away)   Collection:General
Artist:Disco Nihilist   Added:Jul 2011
Label:Running Back Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-07-31 Pull Date: 2011-10-02 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Sep 25 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 21, 2011: Pumping Iron
A New Career In A New Town, Keep It Simple
4. Aug 27, 2011: 30 Years Hence
Keep It Simple
2. Sep 05, 2011: Uncle Steve's Dance Party
Coffee And A Worn Paperback (Original)
5. Aug 23, 2011: Hello (Again) World
December 5th (Original)
3. Aug 30, 2011: Hello World
December 5th (Original)
6. Aug 21, 2011: lost and found
Keep It Simple

Album Review
Dru Deep
Reviewed 2011-07-25
Disco Nihilist - Running (Far Away)
Label: Running Back
Mike Taylor aka Disco Nihilist , is an American producer that has been putting out tracks since 2009. Even though he is new to the scene, Mike has a very old school sound that tributes back to the early 90's/late 80 era of house (particularly acid-house) music. He uses classic analogue gear to make his music. If you weren't around in those times, then his music can take you on a journey back to how electronic music used to be made. If you like the legendary Trax Recordings type of acid-house sound, you will love this release. All good, but try: 2,3,4

1) Classic old-school deep house, very Chicago feel, simple piano-synth loop
2) Retro-acid-house - a faithful re-creation of the legendary type of dirty electronica from labels like Trax
3) Pounding acid-house, again, very analog with slammin' beat & twisted warbling
4) Whoa! Brain-grinding acid here, with a thumpin' beat
5) Dub house - analog keyboards echoing & panning back & forth
6) More retro acid-house - a little bit on the early electro tip - recalls "Dance Mania"

Track Listing
1. Coffee And A Worn Paperback (Original)   4. Keep It Simple
2. December 5th (Original)   5. A New Career In A New Town
3. Greasy Grind   6. Sci-Fi On Tape