Various Artists / Sound The Bells! (Music Of Williams, Tilson Thomas, Et Al)
Album: Sound The Bells! (Music Of Williams, Tilson Thomas, Et Al)   Collection:Classical
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Aug 2011
Label:Harmonia Mundi Usa  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-08-14 Pull Date: 2011-10-16 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Sep 18 Sep 11 Aug 28 Aug 21
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 03, 2014: Clean Copper Radio
B. Broughton: Marches. 6:07
4. Sep 05, 2011: Mixed Up Class
K. Puts: Elegy For Brass. 4:03
2. May 05, 2014: Mixed Up Class
Thomas: Street song
5. Aug 22, 2011: Mixed Up Class
Broughton: Fanfares, marches, hymns, and finale: Finale
3. Sep 14, 2011: George Pre-Show
S. Hiltzik: Spirals. 5:38
6. Aug 16, 2011: A Mind Redefined
M. Lauridsen: Fanfare For Brass Sextet. 1:11, K. Puts: Elegy For Brass. 4:03, M T Thomas: Street Song. Ii. 5:10, B. Broughton: Finale. 4:35

Album Review
Larry Koran
Reviewed 2011-08-09
[Coll]: The Bay Brass (ensemble) / Sound the Bells! (Music of Williams, Tilson Thomas, Hiltzik, et al.)
Label: harmonia mundi

Larry K.
Reviewed 2011-08-07

[Coll]: THE BAY BRASS. Sound the Bells!
Harmonia mundi, 2011

The Bay Brass showcases American 20th Century music exploring the colors and moods of the brass ensemble. The music is almost entirely tonal, though pentatonic scale (5-note) writing occurs, and some mild dissonance. Composers include John Williams (of Star Wars and other movie music fame), M. Tilson Thomas (conductor of the SF Symphony), and lesser-known contemporary composers. The Bay Brass includes trumpets, horns, trombones and tuba. Williams’ sounds are upbeat. Thomas melds Medieval/contemporary and East/West to offer drama (Street Song I), mild pathos (Street Song II), and jazzy dissonance (III). Lauridsen’s Mysterium is contemplative, evokes the open prairie. Broughton’s Fanfares are only distantly regal, but his Hymns is moving, as is Puts’ Elegy.

1. J Williams: Sound the Bells! 2:00 (bright tone, driving rhythm)
2. J Williams: Fanfare for a Festive Occasion. 2:57 (kings meet on open field)
3. J Williams: Aloft. . . To the Royal Masthead! 2:12 (breezes blow bracingly)
4. M T Thomas: Street Song. I. 4:17 (airy view of sunlit SF streets)
5. M T Thomas: II. 5:10 (mild melancholy)
6. M T Thomas: III. 8:53 (jazzy, mildly dissonant, reminiscent of Gershwin)
7. M. Lauridsen: Fanfare for Brass Sextet. 1:11 (peppy dissonance)
8. M. Lauridsen: O Magnum Mysterium. 6:31 (contemplative; open prairie)
9. B. Broughton: Fanfares. 2:27 (distantly regal, castle in view).
10. B. Broughton: Marches. 6:07 (mostly quiet; some brief percussion tumult)
11. B. Broughton: Hymns. 6:17 (the battlefield on the morning after)
12. B. Broughton: Finale. 4:35 (the victors march away sharply)
13. K. Puts: Elegy for Brass. 4:03 (moving. Aaron Copeland sound)
14. S. Hiltzik: Spirals. 5:38 (animated, but lyrical)

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Williams, J. Sound The Bells! 2:00
2. Williams, J. Fanfare For A Festive Occasion. 2:57
3. Williams, J. Aloft. . . To The Royal Masthead! 2:12
4. Thomas, M.T. Street Song. I. 4:17
5. Thomas, M.T. Street Song. Ii. 5:10
6. Thomas, M.T. Street Song. Iii. 8:53
7. Lauridsen, M. Fanfare For Brass Sextet. 1:11
8. Lauridsen, M. O Magnum Mysterium. 6:31
9. Broughton, B. Fanfares. 2:27
10. Broughton, B. Marches. 6:07
11. Broughton, B. Hymns. 6:17
12. Broughton, B. Finale. 4:35
13. Puts, K. Elegy For Brass. 4:03
14. Hiltzik, S. Spirals. 5:38