Souvenir's Young America / Name Of The Snake, The
Album: Name Of The Snake, The   Collection:General 12"
Artist:Souvenir's Young America   Added:Sep 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-16 Pull Date: 2012-03-05
Week Ending: Feb 26 Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 19, 2013: no voices aloud
September Songs I, Vanishing (Remaining)
4. Feb 07, 2012: the gilded youth
Water (Forgetting The Past)
2. Feb 24, 2012: post-game freakout
Amnesia (A Victor's History)
5. Feb 02, 2012: maximum entropy ii
Vanishing (Remaining), Water (Forgetting The Past)
3. Feb 07, 2012: Youth Demographic
Dust (Erasing The Future)
6. Jan 25, 2012: maximum entropy
Water (Forgetting The Past)

Album Review
D. Cannibal
Reviewed 2011-12-26
“Post-rock” is a vague and meaningless bullshit label for pretentious instrumental rock with a lot of crescendos. Unfortunately, this trio from Richmond, VA can’t escape that categorization, but they do achieve far more than just another musical caricature for Stuff White People Like. The soft, atmospheric parts build a tension that isn’t formulaic and boring, but evocative and pensive. At the opposite end of the dynamics spectrum, there’s a heavy, lumbering stoner-rock vibe along with some bluesy twang (complete with harmonica) that reminds me of some panoramic Ennio Morricone overtures. Fans of Pelican, Russian Circles, Earth, and poignant loneliness should give this a spin.

Side A
1. (7:03) Swelling feedback and ambience crescendos into a plodding, tom-heavy dirge with harmonica and some minor pentatonics.
2. (7:32) Structurally and sonically a perfect complement of the previous track; fades out with some tribal drum meanderings and guitar reverb

Side B
1. (4:25) Sparse, folksy acoustic guitar arpeggios and lonely harmonica warbling. Subtle layers of fuzz maintain a rumbling tension beneath it all.
2. (10:09) Majestic, thundering bluesy riffs open slowly and are soon joined by a steady drumbeat and once again that sad little harp, interspersed with quiet, melancholy interludes.

Track Listing
1. Water (Forgetting The Past)   3. Dust (Erasing The Future)
2. Vanishing (Remaining)   4. Amnesia (A Victor's History)