Doe, John / Keeper
Album: Keeper   Collection:General
Artist:Doe, John   Added:Sep 2011
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-04 Pull Date: 2012-02-05
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 03, 2013: The Songsmith Show
Lucky Penny
4. Dec 14, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Walking Out The Door
2. Aug 09, 2013: The Songsmith Show
5. Oct 20, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Never Enough
3. Apr 26, 2013: The Songsmith Show
Walking Out The Door
6. May 18, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Walking Out The Door

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-11-26
Co-founder of legendary L.A. punk band X, John Doe crafts a great, beautiful album with some all-out drivers and nice mellower numbers. It’s got some great rock ‘n’ rollers, some country flair, a few jazzy phrases. Instrumentation of guitar, bass, drums, lap steel, piano, sax, harmonica. Players include Smokey Hormel, Don Was, Howe Gelb, Patty Griffin, Greg Leisz, Jill Sobule. Some great lyrics. A fine album, all songs worth a listen and a play. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: Pick any - all are superb.

1. (3:40) Mid. Upbeat, great guitar work, pounding drums, backing vocals.
2. (4:01) Mid / Fast. False start then real start. Song about having stuff. Upbeat, drivin’, rockin’ rocker with guitar, bass, heavy drumbeat, horn, backing vocals. Killer.
3. (3:03) Slow / Mid. Mellow, strummed acoustic guitar, lap steel, drums, backing vocals.
4. (4:44) Mid. Big, full sound with guitar, bass, drums, organ, backing vocals. Soulfully rockin’.
5. (3:48) Mid. Upbeat, retro rocker, drum driven, with some rollicking piano phrases. Great vocal delivery, guitar soloing. Yeah.
6. (3:59) Slow. Nocturnal, jazzy number, with slow, plodding drum, lap steel, piano, mellow, mellow guitar. Very nice.
7. (2:15) Mid. Beautiful, country-ish, mellow folky song with nice, atmospheric guitar.
8. (2:41) Mid. Starts slow, then gets rockin’. Crunchy guitar, plodding beat.
9. (2:34) Fast. All-out rock ‘n’ roller, big sound, backing vocals
10. (5:03) Slow. Ballad with m / f harmonizing. lap steel. Beautiful.
11. (3:04) Mid. Story-song, Easy-going tune, referencing Merle Haggard and punk rock. Harmonica, piano, drums, guitar. Very cool.
12. (3:28) Mid / Fast. Another rock ‘n’ roller, piano, harmonica, pounding drums, harmonizing. Great stuff.

Track Listing
1. Don't Forget How Much I Love You   7. Sweetheart
2. Never Enough   8. Jump Into My Arms
3. Little Tiger   9. Handsome Devil
4. Giant Step Backward   10. Lucky Penny
5. Walking Out The Door   11. Cottage In The 'dale
6. Moonbeam   12. Painting The Town Blue