Various Artists / Cambodian Rocks Vol. Ⅳ
Album: Cambodian Rocks Vol. Ⅳ   Collection:World
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Sep 2011
Label:Khmer Rocks  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-02 Pull Date: 2011-12-04 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Dec 4 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 16
Airplays: 3 2 3 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2015: Plumbotectonics
Brokenhearted Woman
4. Jul 25, 2013: maximum entropy
Have You Seen Love
2. May 17, 2014: Live Your Life
Brokenhearted Woman
5. Mar 17, 2012: New World Disorder
Don't Be Upset
3. May 03, 2014: Live Your Life
I'm All Skinny
6. Dec 03, 2011: New World Disorder
Biting Game

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2011-09-30
Cambodian Rocks Vol IV
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/30/11
My god, I love these comps! Wild psych-garage from 60’s Cambodia, with truly unique vocals and lots of sloppy fuzz guitar. Check out the lyrics in the book – crazy Khmers! Since most of this is from Cambodian flea market finds, the sound quality is generally pretty funky, but that just adds to the charm.
1. 2:27 ***stuttering guitar frug-garage with farfisa, high female vocals (one of the two main artists featured on these comps.) World’s sloppiest and fuzziest guitar solo!
2. 3:35 ****big psych-garage hard rock chords – think Steppenwolf or Amboy Dukes, at least until the vocals start… Fuzz-tastic!
3. 3:05 ***kinda 60’s bubble gum, and kinda fuzzy, adorable female vocals. The effect of fuzzy bubble gum is GNARLY.
4. 3:09 ****high-pitched oboe (?) and wah-wah guitar. That oughta mess some heads… Gets an extra star for the great sounds of the last few seconds.
5. 4:18 **inscrutable band and adenoidal vocals. Gosh!
6. 3:04 ****happy little go-go boppity pop, yodel-y female vocals.
7. 6:28 *****very stoned garage-psych – great pompous guitar and vocals, all about his cigarette addiction. Utterly epic.
8. 3:17 ***big horns intro, then bouncy 60’s pop duet. Totally odd instrumental break.
9. 2:42 **even muddier sound that everything else… Rather ordinary 50’s white pop sound with female vocals at first, then midtempo 60’s pop with lotsa fuzz, male vocals.
10. 3:08 ***uptempo groovy 60’s pop, going psych for the break.
11. 3:13 ***terribly dramatic garage pop, disturbing male singing and spoken duet. All about a wife who rips off her husbands pants in front of the neighbors.
12. 2:19 ***wild drum intro, then poppy bopper with female vocals. Gnarly farfisa and stuttering guitar break.
13. 3:06 ***psych-fuzz intro, sort of a mambo-baby groove, pleasant male vocals. Farfisa solo from hell, guitar solo from hell at end.
14. 3:18 ***big fuzz intro, then swingy groove with female vocals almost overwhelmed by all the fuzzy noise.
15. 3:28 ****garage pop intro, then hyperactive bongos and rather disturbing vocal duet. Bongo solo!
16. 3:48 ***rather good (!) wah wah intro, sweet little boppy pop with female vocals.
17. 2:48 ***boopy boppy cover of Sugar Sugar. Sweet!
18. 3:34 ***slow, bluesy flute song of heartbreak, dandy vocals. Some sort of violinish thing puts it right over the top.
19. 3:24 ***slow and heartrending with squeaky violins, male vocals.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Ros Sereysothea Brokenhearted Woman
2. Sinn Sisamouth Biting Game
3. Pan Ron Why Follow Me
4. Ros Sereysothea Have You Seen Love
5. Sinn Sisamouth Eyes Like Diamonds
6. Ros Sereysothea What Girl Is Better Than Me
7. Yol Aularong Don't Be Upset
8. Pan Ron Leftover Smile
9. Sinn Sisamouth Season Of Bloom
10. Ros Sereysothea Love Only You
11. Meas Samoun No Short Lesson Learned
12. Pan Ron Ooh...He's Mute
13. Sinn Sisamouth I'm All Skinny
14. Pan Ron When Will You Be Free
15. Sinn Sisamouth Just Love Me
16. Ros Sereysothea Heard You'll Be Coming
17. Sinn Sisamouth Who Doesn't Love
18. Ros Sereysothea Devil's Heart Angel's Words
19. Sinn Sisamouth Moonlight My Love