Nappy Riddim / One World Sovereignty
Album: One World Sovereignty   Collection:General
Artist:Nappy Riddim   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Fort Knox Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-06 Pull Date: 2012-01-08
Week Ending: Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 20
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 22, 2014: Music Casserole
Angle It
4. Dec 21, 2011: New World Disorder
2. Jul 20, 2013: Music Casserole
5. Dec 17, 2011: New World Disorder
Devil Needs A Bodyguard
3. Dec 29, 2011: New World Disorder
Nappy Riddem
6. Dec 10, 2011: New World Disorder
Soundboy (Wake The Sound)

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2011-11-01
Nappy Riddim – One World Sovereignty
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/1/11
Ragga-Soul (so it says – it’s really straight-up O.G. FUNK electronicified. From the Fort Knox Five crew in DC with a bit of help from Thievery Corporation, pure FUNK, baby. Did I mention it’s really funky?
Single but crystal-clear FCCs on tracks 5 and 10.
1. 5:26 ***funky soul drumming, bits of funk vocals, bass, cowbells…
2. 3:30 ****super funky drum, bass and farfisa, falsetto (Isaac Hayes-style) vocals.
3. 4:02 ***slightly subdued, with horn section and a bit of Latin percussion, grunty English and pretty Brazilian vocals. Strange harmonies in the chorus.
4. 3:21 **relaxed groove, pretty but odd female harmonies, prominent bass and less drums, a bit of dancehall vibe.
5. 4:39 FCC “muthafucka” (very clear, dammit!) ****midtempo Reggae (quite nice, too), soulful vocals, Rasta lyrics. Riddim falls out from behind vocals quite a while before end of track.
6. 3:55 ***upbeat funky drums, bass, sax, Latin percussion. A bit low-key, slinky, suggestive dancehall lyrics.
7. 3:51 ****hot horn, cool bass, all flavors of funky vocals. Nice! OK, I’m easily pleased when it comes to funk, but still…
8. 3:33 ***electronic club – subdued dubstep. Somewhat disjointed vocals.
9. 3:48 *slow simple beat and keyboard, smooth-jazzy sax. Pretty vocals, either mysterious or depressing, maybe both.
10. 5:17 FCC: “fuckry” ***pretty midtempo relaxed Latin/beach groove, political lyrics. Hip Hop rap as well as funk and soul vocals.

Track Listing
1. Nappy Riddem   6. Angle It
2. Devil Needs A Bodyguard   7. Rastar
3. Shango   8. Soundboy (Wake The Sound)
4. Ease Up   9. Suspicious Love
5. Dta (Dreadlock Transit Authority)   10. One World Sovereignty