Cut Off Your Hands / Hollow
Album: Hollow   Collection:General
Artist:Cut Off Your Hands   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Frenchkiss Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-02-12 Pull Date: 2012-04-15
Week Ending: Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 4 Feb 26 Feb 19
Airplays: 1 1 3 3 5 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 01, 2012: Synthesis
All It Takes
4. Mar 19, 2012: Seize the Night
2. Mar 30, 2012: Time Traveler
Fooling No One
5. Mar 18, 2012: Instant Cat!
3. Mar 23, 2012: Time Traveler
6. Mar 16, 2012: InAcrossAwayFromMe
Fooling No One

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-01-24
Cut Off Your Hands is like candy for your ears. This is sugary sweet indie-pop. It’s about the gorgeous harmonies here, not hooks. Lead singer can sound like a happy, un-cynical Morrissey or Elliott Smith at some points. RIYL: The Shins, Phoenix, Death Cab, Echo and the Bunnymen (a little), The Beach Boys. No FCCs detected. Songs all sound pretty similar, but I recommend 4, 6, 7, 9.

1. 4:17: Midtempo. Shiny instruments and sad, sweeping anthem-like vocals.
2. 3:55: Nice overlapping vocals/harmonies. Shining, sprinkling instruments. Midway through a cool sing-speak interlude.
3. 4:06: Eerie 10-second ambient intro turns into a fairly standard indie pop song. Midtempo. Sweet song directed to a girlfriend. Last ten seconds fade out.
4*. 3:29: Guitars have more of a presence on this track. Catchy, fairly uptempo. Singer’s voice is haunting in a sweet, non-creepy way.
5. 3:39: Despite the title, high, soaring vocals will make you feel like you’re floating in the clouds. And they’re made of pink cotton candy.
6*. 3:26: Some more urgency to the vocals here, which sound like they’re swaying. Catchy. Some pretty “woo-ooh-oohs” come in at the chorus.
7*. 2:57: Uptempo and hopeful, but with sad, resigned lyrics. Also catchy.
8. 4:35: Darker, heavier guitars than their other songs to suit the darker mood. Even a little guitar distortion in there.
9*. 4:06: Chill song. 30-second simple, clean guitar intro. Singer holds his notes for a long time; the vocals seem to float. Pretty melody.

Track Listing
1. You Should Do Better   5. Oh Hell
2. Nausea   6. All It Takes
3. By Your Side   7. Fooling No One
4. Hollowed Out   8. Down & Out
  9. Buried