Electric Shepherd / Electric Shepherd
Album: Electric Shepherd   Collection:General
Artist:Electric Shepherd   Added:Nov 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-20 Pull Date: 2012-01-22 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27
Airplays: 2 4 4 2 1 3 5 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 26, 2012: Catharsis
Down The River
4. Jan 21, 2012: Catharsis
Mildred Harris
2. Aug 23, 2012: Catharsis
Down The River
5. Jan 15, 2012: multiple catharses: cancer still sucks
Down The River
3. Feb 04, 2012: Jazz Catharsis
The Misled Herd
6. Jan 14, 2012: Catharsis: cancer is some bullshit

Album Review
D. Cannibal
Reviewed 2011-11-16
Transcendental local hard rock, irresistibly psychedelic yet still quite lucid. Fuzzy guitars, groovy rhythm section—perfect for fans of listening to Wishbone Ash on blown-out speakers. Soulful guitar wailing adds a raw edge to contrast with crooning melancholy melodies. Folksy, reverbed twanginess is thrown into the mix too. Fans of UFO, Uriah Heep, 70s Pentagram, pre-Dark Side but post-syd Floyd, and the aforementioned Wishbone Ash will be pleased. FCC clean, try 2, 3, 6 and 8

(NOTE: This also came with a really cool single-sided 12” promo with tracks 4 and 2. Play it and key it as if it was off the CD.)

1. (0:58) Pretty fingerpicked guitar intro with weird echoing voices and effects
2. (6:10) Somber, pensive, dark and acid-washed, with slowly crescendoing heaviness and gorgeous guitar harmonies
3. (6:54) Dark, plodding, bluesy with some murder ballad vibes—maybe if Jim Morrison had lived longer and hung out with Tony Iommi
4. (7:41) Drifting but intense psychedelic rock, makes me want to go on a road-trip through the desert
5. (0:37) Brief interlude, like the intro but no vocals and more weirdness.
6. (5:32) A bit faster with some eastern harmonies, flowing and ebbing tides of heaviness
7. (10:30) epic, plodding, folksy excursion into unexplored realms of the mind / halfway through it deteriorates into a blues-rock jam
8. (10:49) lighthearted instrumental 6/8 jam sounding like “Take Five” with an extra beat; continues on a jangly, rockin’ psych jam path that never quite resolves, but instead adds on additional layers of fuzz.

Track Listing
1. Awake   5. Pulse
2. Down The River   6. Lukewarm
3. Mildred Harris   7. Mapping Your Innermost Trails
4. Chem Trails   8. The Misled Herd