Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Itsnotyouitsme / Everbody's Pain Is Magnificent
Album:Everbody's Pain Is Magnificent Collection:General
Artist:Itsnotyouitsme Added:11/2011
Label:New Amsterdam Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-02-12 Pull Date:2012-04-15 
Week Ending:15 Apr11 Mar26 Feb19 Feb

 Recent Airplay
1.Apr 12, 2012:The Fall of Math
The Fate Of The World Rests In The Hands Of A Tiny Animal
4.Feb 17, 2012:Songs: Cantan
The Snake Of Forever
2.Mar 05, 2012:Ghost Trees
The Fate Of The World Rests In The Hands Of A Tiny Animal
5.Feb 13, 2012:Ghost Trees
Glowing Embers, Pillared Palaces
3.Feb 19, 2012:No Voices Aloud
The Fate Of The World Rests In The Hands Of A Tiny Animal

Album Review
Gorilla Man Jr.
Reviewed 2012-01-31 
Ignore their poor choice of a band name. itsnotyouitsme is an NYC-based ambient music group. Really solid, beautiful music. It is all really solid, and since it is at times difficult to distinguish tracks you can’t go wrong. But I particularly enjoyed Side A’s 2, 4 and Side B’s 2, 3. FCC Clean.

Side A
1. The Snake of Forever: Mysterious strings, some horns in the background. Sounds like a film score to a haunting artsy movie. (2:14)
2. *The Fate of the World Rests in the Hands of a Tiny Animal: A string of guitar plucks repeated over and under changing string noises. Occasional dissonance in the background. Beautiful (6:23)
3. Old Friends, Lost Relatives: Similar to the previous track. Descending line of low guitar. (2:43)
4. *Gardens of Loss: A slow, melancholic violin and synth piece (11:59)
5. It Might Be Time to Leave This Place and Go Mingle With Our Heroes: More uptempo violin, eventually joined by the slower droning violins. Ends with guitar-led repetitions. (8:02)
6. Words We Weren’t Allowed to Say: Starts with a single note repeated every few seconds. Slow horns come in, and violins take over temporarily around halfway through. (9:31)
7. Little Wish: A voice singing slowly over slow music. (3:02)

Side B
1. Mammoth Super Column to the Towers Of: Cacophony (intentional). (1:45)
2. *The Ghosts Among Us: Pretty arpeggio-type guitar riff in the beginning. Some cool wails and electronic noises scattered about. (8:27)
3. *Will the Water Save Us Now? Dominated by high-pitched, violin and a hazy underbelly. (7:35)
4. Glowing Embers, Pillared Palaces: Begins with a cool interplay between a single low guitar note and a short electronic loop. The most electronic-sounding track on the album. (4:21)
5. Bluebird (In My Heart): Slow acoustic guitar. Occasionally interrupted by toneless howl. (8:18)
6. I Will Watch the Sky Until the End of My Time: Another high-pitched violin number. (3:21)
7. And This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Things: More hazy synth. (1:35)
Always Look Up (Always Look Up): Similar to the rest of the tracks. Adds some echoey “ahhh”s in the background. (7:11)

Reviewed by Gorilla Man Jr. 1/31/12

Track Listing
1.The Snake Of Forever 8.Mammoth Super Column To The Towers Of
2.The Fate Of The World Rests In The Hands Of A Tiny Animal 9.The Ghosts Among Us
3.Old Friends, Lost Relatives 10.Will The Water Save Us Now?
4.Gardens Of Loss 11.Glowing Embers, Pillared Palaces
5.It Might Be Time To Leave This Place And Go Mingle With Our Heroes 12.Bluebird (In My Heart)
6.Words We Weren't Allowed To Say 13.I Will Watch The Sky Until The End Of My Time
7.Little Wish 14.And This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Things
 15.Always Look Up (Always Look Up)