Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Red Sea Pedestrians, The / Electromagnetic Escape, The
Album:Electromagnetic Escape, The Collection:General
Artist:Red Sea Pedestrians, The Added:Nov 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-03-02 Pull Date:2012-05-05 
Week Ending:Apr 15Apr 8Mar 25Mar 18Mar 11

 Recent Airplay
1.Apr 13, 2012:The Songsmith Show
The Gypsy Moth
4.Mar 22, 2012:The Songsmith Show
Deven's Escape Hatch
2.Apr 06, 2012:Mountain Music
Deven's Escape Hatch
5.Mar 21, 2012:Modern Donkey - Melody Variation Part 2
The Gypsy Moth
3.Apr 04, 2012:Modern Donkey - Closers
Singapore Michigan 1836
6.Mar 14, 2012:Modern Donkey - Melody Variation Part 1
The Gypsy Moth

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2012-03-01 
This hipster-gypsy album does a fantastic job of using typical gypsy-style instruments to create a hipster-gypsy sound that breaks away from the gypsy-punk stereotypes that Gogol Bordello developed for the instruments.  Key tracks include 2, 6, 8, 11, 12.  No FCCs. 
By Karpediem
1) Keynahore (3:20): instrumental, cool percussion/clarinet solo at about 1:40
**2) The Gypsy Moth (3:08):  Slow track that starts with acoustic guitar and builds beautifully
3) Alternate Plan (3:09):  Grunting noises start track, actual song starts at 0:05.  Mid-tempo plodding gypsy beat. 
4) Golden Apple (3:24):  Slower track dominated by horns and electric guitar.  Banjo interlude.
5) Rosabelle Believe (3:44): slower, fiddle/bass-based track. 
**6) Deven’s Escape Hatch (3:47): fast paced instrumental track with great fiddle/clarinet battle in from about 2:00 on. Ends abruptly at 3:43.
7) Downstream (3:42):  Slower start that turns into a gypsy-bluesy mid-tempo song.  Vocals come in a little late, at 0:47. 
**8) Brutus (3:42): 50s Lounge Music feel.  Cool lyrics, great use of the whole band’s vocals
9) Weary Stone (3:18):  violins and subtle drumbeat drive this slow, pretty ballad.
10) Ella 1914 (1:43): circus-y feel, excellent xylophone, quick, frenzied lyrics.
**11) Magnetic North (4:07): beautiful plea to “dance with me”, has a beautiful desperation to it, tempo and instrumentation of the song build from a soft start to a more intense finish.  Ends abruptly at exactly 4:00.
**12) Singapore Michigan 1836 (4:20):  Slow, pretty, ending to the album with piano underlying the verses.  Great vocal harmonies as well.  Ends cold.

Track Listing
1.Keynahore 7.Downstrem
2.The Gypsy Moth 8.Brutus
3.Alternate Plan 9.Weary Stone
4.Golden Apple 10.Ella 1914
5.Rosabelle Believe 11.Magnetic North
6.Deven's Escape Hatch 12.Singapore Michigan 1836