Kennedy, Harrison / Shame The Devil
Album: Shame The Devil   Collection:Blues
Artist:Kennedy, Harrison   Added:Jan 2012
Label:Electro-Fi Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-22 Pull Date: 2012-03-25 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Mar 18 Mar 4
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 15, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Snakes Lie
2. Mar 01, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Music To My Ears

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2012-01-16
It’s blues. It’s country. It’s country-blues. It’s Ontario-born, Detroit-based Harrison Kennedy layin’ down some incredible sounds. He invokes that old-time blues infused with country, r & b, and soul. It’s hard to imagine this kind of stuff being done any better than Kennedy does it. Great vocal, great lyrics, great songs. This is the Real Deal. Brings to mind Taj Mahal. Instrumentation of guitar, banjo, accordion, harmonica, percussion, bass, keys, mandolin. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: Every song.

1. (3:01) Mid. Easy-loping country-blues. Guitar, harmonica, organ.
2. (4:29) Slow / Mid. Channeling some old blues, lonesome harmonica, mellow guitar.
3. (4:42) Mid. Banjo, strong vocal. The old hound and rabbit story. Accordion, percussion. Driving and killer.
4. (3:49) Mid. Title track. Guitar, tambourine intro. Really has that gospel, r & b sound. Harmonica, keys, bass.
5. (4:41) Slow / Mid. Mandolin, wah-wah guitar, heartfelt vocal, heavy lyrics. Haunting, beautiful. Incredible.
6. (3:23) Slow / Mid. High-register vocal, guitar, keys, percussion. Channeling lots of old classic blues tunes. Mellow and absolutely breathtaking!
7. (3:24) Mid. Swirling, hypnotic organ, banjo propel this song about the devil. Killer.
8. (3:17) Mid. Sparse guitar, harmonica. Old time blues.
9. (3:11) Mid / Fast. Upbeat guitar driver with harmonica, great vocal.
10. (3:07) Mid. Upbeat driver with guitar, shaker. Great slide work. Sparse yet full.
11. (4:55) Slow / Mid. Harmonica intro, then percussion, banjo. Driving song about a train.
12. (2:56) Mid. Guitar, harmonica, keys, great high-pitched vocal phrases. Really has that Taj Mahal thing going on.
13. (4:15) Mid. Upbeat banjo, accordion. Driving and just plain cool.
14. (3:21) Slow. Mellow gospel, r & b with piano and vocal. Nice.

Track Listing
1. Cat's In The Window   8. Hard Time Blues
2. Trouble   9. Snakes Lie
3. Hound And Rabbit   10. Music To My Ears
4. Shame The Devil   11. Fo' Day Train
5. That's Just Stupid   12. Stay
6. How Long   13. Shake Em Free
7. Musta Bin The Devil   14. You Don't Know Me